Depositor protection and bank insolvency

In February 2017, the Federal Council decided to improve the depositor protection system. The time taken to pay out protected deposits in case of a bank becoming bankrupt should be reduced. Furthermore, the upper limit of the system is to be set at 1.6% of the total secured deposits. In addition, the financing of the deposit protection system is to be strengthened with the deposit of securities to the value of 50% of the banks' contribution obligations. 

For the corresponding amendment of the Banking Act, a consultation took place until the summer of 2019. The amendment also includes the insolvency provisions submitted to Parliament under the Financial Institutions Act and rejected to the Federal Council. It also contains a supplementary regulation on the segregation of securities.

The Federal Council adopted the dispatch in June 2020. Parliament is expected to address the bill for the first time in the second half of 2020. It is not expected to come into force until the start of 2022 at the earliest.

 

Further information

Last modification 15.10.2020

Contact

State Secretariat for International Finance SIF

Legal Services
Bundesgasse 3
3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 480 09 62

rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/finanzmarktregulierung-und--aufsicht-/regulierungsprojekte/einlegerschutz-bankinsolvenz.html

Einlegerschutz und Bankinsolvenz

Der Bundesrat hat im Februar 2017 entschieden, das Einlegerschutzsystem zu verbessern. Die Dauer zur Auszahlung der gesicherten Einlagen im Fall eines Bankenkonkurses soll verkürzt werden. Zudem soll die Systemobergrenze neu auf 1,6 Prozent der Gesamtsumme der gesicherten Einlagen festgelegt werden. Weiter soll die Finanzierung der Einlagensicherung durch eine Hinterlegung von Wertschriften im Umfang von 50 Prozent der Beitragsverpflichtungen der Banken gestärkt werden.

Zur entsprechenden Änderung des Bankengesetzes hat bis im Sommer 2019 eine Vernehmlassung stattgefunden. Die Änderung umfasst auch die Insolvenzbestimmungen, die dem Parlament im Rahmen des Finanzinstitutsgesetzes unterbreitet und an den Bundesrat zurückgewiesen wurden. Ebenso enthält sie eine ergänzende Regelung zur Segregierung von Wertschriften.

Der Bundesrat hat die Botschaft im Juni 2020 verabschiedet. Das Parlament wird sich voraussichtlich im zweiten Halbjahr 2020 erstmals mit der Vorlage befassen. Deren Inkrafttreten ist frühestens per Anfang 2022 zu erwarten.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 23.06.2020

Kontakt

Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF

Rechtsdienst
Bundesgasse 3
3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 465 34 81

rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch

Kontakt drucken

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/finanzmarktpolitik/finanzmarktregulierung-und--aufsicht-/regulierungsprojekte/einlegerschutz-bankinsolvenz.html