Regulatory projects

Appropriate measures in national regulation should, in particular, ensure the interests of market players which focus on the domestic market, e.g. when implementing international standards. Financial stability is also a focus point, but innovation must be possible. Disproportionate barriers to market entry, e.g. for fintech firms, should therefore be removed by adjusting the legal framework. Ongoing dialogue with the industry is important for all of these initiatives.

Systemically important banks

The global financial and economic crisis in 2008 showed that a big bank encountering serious difficulties can constitute a considerable burden for the economy, even in Switzerland. The Federal Council wants to prevent such banks from being too big to fail and to prevent the state from having to use tax revenues to save them. 

TBTF 2

The second review of the too-big-to-fail provisions by the Federal Council shows that Swiss regulation fares well in international comparison. It is suited to reducing the risk of systemically important banks so that no fundamental changes are required. 

Gone concern capital requirements are intended to ensure that a bank in difficulty can be restructured and wound up in an orderly manner without financial assistance from the state. Following the introduction of gone concern capital requirements for UBS and Credit Suisse back in 2016, since 1 January 2019 these apply also to the domestically focused systemically important banks (PostFinance AG, Raiffeisen and Zürcher Kantonalbank). The level of the new requirements reflects the going concern capital requirements already in force today, which ensure the continuation of business activities in the event of major losses. Unlike for the big banks, however, only 40% of the requirements are reflected, as the domestically focused banks are less interconnected internationally.

2019, the Federal Council will decide on the corresponding requirements for the parent entities of the two big banks.                  

 

Depositor protection and bank insolvency

On 15 February 2017, the Federal Council decided to improve the depositor protection system. The time taken to pay out protected deposits in case of a bank becoming bankrupt should be reduced. Furthermore, the upper limit of the system is to be set at 1.6% of the total secured deposits. In addition, the financing of the deposit protection system is to be strengthened with the deposit of securities to the value of 50% of the banks' contribution obligations. 

For the corresponding amendment of the Banking Act, a consultation takes place until the summer of 2019. The amendment will also include the insolvency provisions submitted to Parliament under the Financial Institutions Act and rejected to the Federal Council. It also contains a supplementary regulation on the segregation of securities.

Consultation

 

Implementing Basel III

Basel III is the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision's (BCBS) comprehensive package of reforms which, in particular, aims to strengthen solvency and liquidity in the banking sector. In November 2017, the Federal Council decided to incorporate further elements of Basel III into national law. As of 2018, core capital must amount to at least 3% of total exposure (leverage ratio). The special requirements of up to 10% for systemically important banks remain. As of 2019, the new risk diversification regulations will also come into force and the Liquidity Coverage Ratio (LCR) must be fully achieved by then. The Federal Council will decide on the introduction of the Net Stable Funding Ratio (NSFR) at the end of 2019.

Federal Financial Services Act (FinSA) and Financial Institutions Act (FinIA)

The Financial Services Act (FinSA) and Financial Institutions Act (FinIA) are part of the new regulatory financial market architecture. The purpose of both laws is to create a level playing field, boost the competitiveness of the financial centre and improve client protection. 

The FinSA contains rules on providing financial services and offering financial instruments for all financial service providers and makes it easier for clients to enforce their claims against financial service providers. A differentiated supervisory regime for financial institutions (portfolio managers and trustees, managers of collective assets, fund management companies and securities firms) will be introduced with the FinIA. 

Parliament adopted both bills in the final votes on 15 June 2018. The referendum deadline expired unused in autumn 2018. In parallel, work has begun on the ordinance provisions. It seems realistic that the two new laws will come into force at the beginning of 2020. 

Dispatch

Curia Vista

Consultation 

 
 

Collective Investment Schemes Act (CISA)

The Limited Qualified Investor Fund (L-QIF) is an innovative fund product designed to enhance the attractiveness and innovative capacity of Switzerland as a fund centre. The L-QIF is neither subject to approval nor approval by the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) nor is it supervised by the latter. However, it is only open to qualified investors and must be managed by an institution approved and supervised by FINMA - usually a fund management company (administration and portfolio management). The corresponding amendment to the Collective Investment Schemes Act (CISA) is scheduled for consultation in summer 2019.

Federal Council press release

Insurance Policies Act (IPA)

The Insurance Policies Act (IPA) is over one hundred years old and no longer meets the requirements and needs of a modern law. Some urgent consumer protection concerns were implemented with a partial revision in 2006. The dispatch submitted by the Federal Council in June 2017 for a further partial revision is intended to adapt insurance contract law in other selected areas to the changed circumstances and to the need for reasonable and feasible insurance cover. 

The draft takes up Parliament's proposal from the total revision of the IPA that failed in 2013 and has been under parliamentary deliberation since the first quarter of 2018. Entry into force of the partially revised IPA could occur by 2020.

Dispatch

Insurance Oversight Act (IOA)

In September 2016, the Federal Council instructed the FDF to prepare a revision of the Insurance Supervision Act (IOA) in collaboration with other authorities and the insurance industry. A legal basis should also be established which, in the event of insolvency, allows an insurance company to be restructured rather than left to go bankrupt. Furthermore, a client categorisation and associated facilitation by the supervisory authorities is to be introduced. In addition to other points for revision, the provisions on group supervision and insurance distribution should also be revised. The consultation on the partial revision of the VAG ended in February 2019. A message from the Federal Council is expected at the end of 2019 or the beginning of 2020.

Consultation 

Amendments to the Anti-Money Laundering Act

The FATF conducted its fourth review of Switzerland in 2016. In its mutual evaluation report, it acknowledged the generally good quality of the Swiss system for combating money laundering and terrorist financing. At the same time, it identified weaknesses in certain areas and issued recommendations. In June 2017, the Federal Council instructed the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) to prepare a corresponding consultation draft which also reinforces the integrity of the Swiss financial centre. On 1 June 2018, the Federal Council initiated the consultation on amendments to the Anti-Money Laundering Act (AMLA). The consultation will last until 21 September 2018. The Federal Council will probably adopt the dispatch for the attention of Parliament in the first half of 2019. Entry into force is not expected until the start of 2021 at the earliest.

 

 

Last modification 08.05.2019

Top of page

Contact

Legal Services

Tel.: +41 58 465 34 81

rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/finanzmarktregulierung-und--aufsicht-/regulierungsprojekte.html

Regulierungsprojekte

In der nationalen Regulierung sollen – etwa bei der Umsetzung internationaler Standards – mit verhältnismässigen Vorgaben besonders die Interessen der auf den inländischen Markt fokussierten Marktteilnehmer gewahrt werden. Im Fokus der Arbeiten steht auch die Finanzstabilität. Daneben muss aber Innovation möglich sein. Daher sollen unverhältnismässige Markteintrittshürden, beispielsweise für Fintech-Unternehmen, mittels Anpassungen der rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen abgebaut werden. Bei all diesen Vorhaben ist der laufende Dialog mit der Branche wichtig.

Systemrelevante Banken

Die globale Finanz- und Wirtschaftskrise von 2008 hat auch in der Schweiz gezeigt, dass die Schieflage einer Grossbank eine erhebliche Belastung für die Volkswirtschaft darstellen kann. Der Bundesrat will verhindern, dass solche Banken „zu gross sind, um unterzugehen“ (too big to fail, TBTF) und der Staat Steuergelder zu deren Rettung einsetzen muss.

TBTF 2

Die zweite Überprüfung der Too-big-to-fail-Bestimmungen durch den Bundesrat hat gezeigt, dass die Schweizer Regelung im internationalen Vergleich gut dasteht. Sie ist geeignet, das Risiko systemrelevanter Banken zu reduzieren. Es bedarf keiner grundsätzlichen Neuausrichtung. 

Gone-concern-Kapitalanforderungen sollen sicherstellen, dass eine in Schwierigkeiten geratene Bank ohne finanzielle Mithilfe des Staates geordnet saniert und abgewickelt werden kann. Nachdem Gone-concern-Kapitalanforderungen für UBS und Credit Suisse bereits 2016 eingeführt wurden, gelten diese seit dem 1. Januar 2019 auch für die inlandorientierten systemrelevanten Banken (PostFinance AG, Raiffeisen und Zürcher Kantonalbank). In der Höhe spiegeln die neuen Anforderungen die schon heute geltenden Going-concern-Kapitalanforderungen, welche die Fortsetzung der Geschäftstätigkeit bei grösseren Verlusten sicherstellen. Die Spiegelung erfolgt aber anders als bei den Grossbanken nur zu 40 Prozent, da die inlandorientieren Banken international weniger verflochten sind.

2019 wird der Bundesrat über die entsprechenden Anforderungen für die Stammhäuser der beiden Grossbanken entscheiden.                

 

Einlegerschutz und Bankinsolvenz 

Der Bundesrat hat am 15. Februar 2017 entschieden, das Einlegerschutzsystem zu verbessern. Die Dauer zur Auszahlung der gesicherten Einlagen im Fall eines Bankenkonkurses soll verkürzt werden. Zudem soll die Systemobergrenze neu auf 1,6 Prozent der Gesamtsumme der gesicherten Einlagen festgelegt werden. Weiter soll die Finanzierung der Einlagensicherung durch eine Hinterlegung von Wertschriften im Umfang von 50 Prozent der Beitragsverpflichtungen der Banken gestärkt werden. 

Zur entsprechenden Änderung des Bankengesetzes hat bis im Sommer 2019 eine Vernehmlassung stattgefunden. Die Änderung wird auch die Insolvenzbestimmungen umfassen, die dem Parlament im Rahmen des Finanzinstitutsgesetzes unterbreitet und an den Bundesrat zurückgewiesen wurden. Ebenso enthält sie eine ergänzende Regelung zur Segregierung von Wertschriften. Die Botschaft des Bundesrates ist im Frühling 2020 zu erwarten.

Vernehmlassung
 

Umsetzung Basel III

Basel III ist ein umfassendes Reformpaket des Basler Ausschusses für Bankenaufsicht (BCBS), mit dem besonders die Solvenz und Liquidität im Bankensektor gestärkt werden sollen.

Im November 2017 hat der Bundesrat beschlossen, weitere Elemente von Basel III in das nationale Recht zu überführen. Ab 2018 muss das Kernkapital mindestens 3% des Gesamtengagements betragen (Leverage Ratio). Vorbehalten bleiben die besonderen Anforderungen für systemrelevante Banken, die bis hin zu 10% reichen. Ab 2019 gelten zudem neue Risikoverteilungsvorschriften und es ist bis dahin die Quote für kurzfristige Liquidität (Liquidity Coverage Ratio, LCR) vollständig zu erfüllen. Über die Einführung einer Finanzierungsquote (net stable funding ratio, NSFR) wird der Bundesrat Ende 2019 befinden.

Finanzdienstleistungsgesetz (FIDLEG) und Finanzinstitutsgesetz (FINIG)

Das Finanzdienstleistungsgesetz (FIDLEG) und das Finanzinstitutsgesetz (FINIG) sind Teil der neuen regulatorischen Finanzmarktarchitektur. Beide Gesetze dienen dazu, einheitliche Wettbewerbsbedin­gungen zu schaffen, die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Finanzplatzes zu stärken und den Kundenschutz zu verbessern. 

Das FIDLEG enthält für alle Finanzdienstleister Regeln über die Erbringung von Finanzdienstlei­stungen sowie das Anbieten von Finanzinstru­menten und erleichtert es Kundinnen und Kunden, ihre Ansprüche gegenüber Finanzdienstleistern durchzusetzen. Mit dem FINIG wird eine differenzierte Aufsichtsre­gelung für Finanzinstitute (Vermögensverwalter und Trustees, Verwalter von Kollektivvermögen, Fondsleitungen sowie Wertpapierhäuser) einge­führt. 

Die eidgenössischen Räte haben die beiden Gesetzesvorlagen am 15. Juni 2018 in den Schlussabstimmungen verabschiedet. Die Referendumsfrist ist im Herbst 2018 unbenutzt abgelaufen. Parallel dazu haben die Arbeiten zu den Verordnungsbestimmungen begonnen. Eine Inkraftsetzung der beiden neuen Gesetze scheint auf Anfang 2020 realistisch.

Botschaft

Curia Vista

Schlussabstimmungstext FIDLEG/FINIG

Vernehmlassung 

Kollektivanlagengesetz (KAG)

Der Limited Qualified Investor Fond (L-QIF) ist ein neuartiges Fondsprodukt, das dazu beitragen soll, die Attraktivität und die Innovationsfähigkeit des Fondsplatzes Schweiz zu erhöhen. Der L-QIF unterliegt weder einer Genehmigungs- noch einer Bewilligungspflicht durch die Eidgenössische Finanzmarktaufsicht (FINMA) und wird auch nicht von dieser beaufsichtigt. Er steht jedoch ausschliesslich qualifizierten Anlegern offen und muss von einem von der FINMA bewilligten und beaufsichtigten Institut – in der Regel einer Fondsleitung – verwaltet werden (Administration und Portfolioverwaltung). Das Vernehmlassungsverfahren zur entsprechenden Änderung des Kollektivanlagengesetzes (KAG) läuft bis im Herbst 2019.

Medienmitteilung des Bundesrates

Vernehmlassung

Versicherungsvertragsgesetz (VVG)

Das Versicherungsvertragsgesetz (VVG) ist über einhundert Jahre alt und genügt den Anforderungen und Bedürfnissen an ein modernes Gesetz nicht mehr. Einige vordringliche Konsumentenschutzanliegen wurden mit einer Teilrevision im Jahr 2006 umgesetzt. Mit der vom Bundesrat im Juni 2017 vorgelegten Botschaft für eine weitere Teilrevision soll das Versicherungsvertragsrecht in weiteren ausgewählten Themen an die veränderten Gegebenheiten und an die Bedürfnisse nach einem vernünftigen und realisierbaren Versicherungsschutz angepasst werden. 

Der Entwurf nimmt die Vorgaben des Parlaments aus der im 2013 gescheiterten Totalrevision des VVG auf und befindet sich seit dem ersten Quartal 2018 in der parlamentarischen Beratung. Die Inkraftsetzung des teilrevidierten VVG könnte auf 2020 hin erfolgen.

Botschaft

Curia Vista

Versicherungsaufsichtsgesetz (VAG)

Im September 2016 beauftragte der Bundesrat das EFD, in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Behörden sowie der Versicherungsbranche eine Revision des Versicherungsaufsichtsgesetzes (VAG) zu erarbeiten. Es soll unter anderem eine rechtliche Grundlage geschaffen werden, um im Insolvenzfall eine Versicherung sanieren zu können anstatt diese in Konkurs gehen zu lassen. Weiter soll eine Kundenkategorisierung und damit verbunden eine Erleichterung von der Aufsicht eingeführt werden. Neben weiteren Revisionspunkten sollen auch die Bestimmungen zur Gruppenaufsicht und zum Versicherungsvertrieb überarbeitet werden. Die Vernehmlassung zur Teilrevision des VAG endete im Februar 2019. Eine Botschaft des Bundesrates ist im Frühling 2020 zu erwarten.

Vernehmlassung

Änderung des Geldwäschereigesetzes (GwG)

2016 prüfte die FATF die Schweiz zum vierten Mal. In ihrem Länderbericht anerkennt sie die insgesamt gute Qualität des schweizerischen Dispositivs zur Bekämpfung der Geldwäscherei und der Terrorismusfinanzierung. Gleichzeitig hat sie in gewissen Bereichen Schwachstellen identifiziert und Empfehlungen abgegeben. Im Juni 2017 hat der Bundesrat das Eidgenössische Finanzdepartement (EFD) beauftragt, eine entsprechende Vernehmlassungsvorlage auszuarbeiten, die zudem die Integrität des Finanzplatzes Schweiz stärkt. Die Vernehmlassung zur Änderung des Geldwäschereigesetzes (GwG) endete am 21. September 2018. Der Bundesrat hat Ende Juni 2019 die Botschaft zu Händen des Parlaments verabschiedet. Eine Inkraftsetzung ist voraussichtlich frühestens Anfang 2021 zu erwarten.

Botschaft

 

Letzte Änderung 03.07.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Rechtsdienst

Tel.: +41 58 465 34 81

rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/finanzmarktpolitik/finanzmarktregulierung-und--aufsicht-/regulierungsprojekte.html