Financial market regulation

The financial markets are among the most heavily regulated sectors of the economy. The most important goals of financial market regulation are protection of the individual (protection of creditors, investors and insured persons), system stability and properly functioning financial markets.    

Through the increasing cross-border integration of financial markets, international standards have a substantial impact on financial market regulation. Switzerland is actively involved in the corresponding international bodies that draw up these standards. If the same cross-border rules apply to everyone, this ultimately strengthens the competitiveness of the domestic financial centre.

When formulating or revising financial market regulations, SIF pays particular attention to the following points:

  • Involvement of stakeholders. Broad-based exchanges with the industry take place during regular meetings on general topics and specific projects. Where appropriate, customers (e.g. insured persons) are included in these exchanges.

  • Cost/benefit analyses. In the case of new regulatory projects, cost/benefit analyses are carried out and the probable economic impact is evaluated right from the outset (quick check and regulatory impact assessment).

  • Ex post evaluations. Together with the administration, independent experts examine whether existing regulations are effective, and whether there is a need for deregulation or greater regulation.

Contact

State Secretariat for International Finance SIF

Legal Services
Bundesgasse 3
3003 Berne

Tel.: +41 58 480 09 62

rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/finanzmarktregulierung-und--aufsicht-.html

Finanzmarktregulierung

Die Finanzmärkte gehören zu den am stärksten regulierten Bereichen der Wirtschaft. Wichtigste Ziele der  Finanzmarktregulierung sind der Individualschutz (Gläubiger-, Anleger- und Versichertenschutz), die Systemstabilität sowie die  Gewährleistung der Funktionsfähigkeit der Finanzmärkte.

Mit der zunehmenden grenzüberschreitenden Verflechtung der Finanzmärkte beeinflussen internationale Standards die Finanzmarktregulierung massgeblich. Die Schweiz arbeitet in den entsprechenden internationalen Gremien bei der  Erarbeitung dieser  Standards aktiv mit. Gelten grenzüberschreitend gleiche Regeln für alle, so stärkt dies nicht zuletzt der  Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des einheimischen Finanzplatzes.

Das SIF achtet bei der Erarbeitung oder Überarbeitung der Finanzmarktregulierung besonders auf die nachfolgenden Punkte:

  • Einbezug der Betroffenen. Der Austausch mit der Branche erfolgt in regelmässig stattfindenden allgemeinen und projektbezogenen Sitzungen und ist auf eine breite Basis gestellt. Soweit sachgerecht, werden auch die Kunden (bspw. die Versicherten) in den Austausch einbezogen.

  • Kosten-Nutzen-Abwägungen. Bei neuen Regulierungsvorhaben werden bereits von Anfang an Kosten-Nutzen-Abwägungen vorgenommen und die mutmasslichen ökonomischen Auswirkungen evaluiert (Quick-check und Regulierungsfolgenabschätzungen).

  • Ex-post Evaluationen. Unabhängige Experten prüfen zusammen mit der Verwaltung, ob bestehende Regulierungen wirksam sind und ob allenfalls De- oder weiterer Regulierungsbedarf besteht.
                

Weiterführende Informationen

Kontakt

Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF

Rechtsdienst
Bundesgasse 3
3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 465 34 81

rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch

Kontakt drucken

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/finanzmarktpolitik/finanzmarktregulierung-und--aufsicht-.html