Stablecoins

The Federal Council is closely monitoring developments in the area of stablecoins. International cooperation is essential in view of the global nature of some stablecoin projects. Switzerland is actively involved in the relevant work in the competent bodies, especially the Financial Stability Board.    

Stablecoins are cryptocurrencies whose value is intended to be stabilised by underlying assets (e.g. fiat currencies or commodities). They aim to limit the high volatility of cryptocurrencies such as Bitcoin, which makes them more suitable for payments. For this reason, the demand for stablecoins is growing strongly worldwide.

The Swiss financial centre is attractive for innovative business models, including stablecoin projects with an international focus. Switzerland recognises the opportunities of such projects for a more efficient international payment system, but it also takes the risks seriously. It attaches great importance to clear regulatory requirements and good international cooperation. 

Switzerland is committed to ensuring that the challenges posed by stablecoins in terms of financial stability and anti-money laundering are addressed by means of international cooperation. In October 2020, the Financial Stability Board (FSB) published recommendations on the regulation, supervision and oversight of global stablecoins. Switzerland continues to participate actively in this work.

FSB recommendations


Libra/Diem project

In Switzerland, the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) is responsible for the authorisation procedure. A stablecoin project has to meet stringent stability and anti-money laundering requirements in order receive a licence.

In April 2020, the Libra Association applied to FINMA for a payment system licence in Switzerland.

Following the redimensioning of the project, in particular the restriction to US dollars and the focus on activities in the USA, the Diem Association (the former Libra Association) suspended the licence application in May 2021.

 
 
 

Further information

Last modification 14.05.2021

Top of page

Contact

State Secretariat for International Finance SIF

Bundesgasse 3
3003 Berne

info@sif.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/digit_finanzsektor/libra.html

Stablecoins

Der Bundesrat verfolgt die internationalen Entwicklungen zu Stablecoins aufmerksam. Aufgrund der globalen Dimension einiger Stablecoin-Projekte ist eine Zusammenarbeit auf internationaler Ebene erforderlich. Die Schweiz beteiligt sich aktiv an den Arbeiten zu Stablecoins in den entsprechenden Gremien, namentlich im Financial Stability Board.

Stablecoins sind Kryptowährungen, deren Wert durch unterliegende Vermögenswerte (z.B. Fiat-Währungen oder Rohstoffe) stabilisiert werden soll. Sie zielen darauf ab, die hohe Volatilität von Kryptowährungen wie etwa Bitcoin zu begrenzen, was sie für den Zahlungsverkehr eher geeignet macht. Aus diesem Grund wächst die Nachfrage nach Stablecoins weltweit stark.

Der Finanzstandort Schweiz ist attraktiv für innovative Geschäftsmodelle. Dazu gehören auch international ausgerichtete Stablecoin-Projekte. Die Schweiz anerkennt die Chancen solcher Projekte für einen effizienteren grenzüberschreitenden Zahlungsverkehr, nimmt aber auch die Risiken ernst. Sie legt hohen Wert auf klare regulatorische Anforderungen und eine gute internationale Zusammenarbeit.

Die Schweiz setzt sich für eine internationale Zusammenarbeit bei den Herausforderungen der Stablecoins insbesondere in Bezug auf die Finanzstabilität und die Bekämpfung der Geldwäscherei ein. Im Oktober 2020 hat das Financial Stability Board (FSB) Empfehlungen zur Regulierung, Aufsicht und Kontrolle globaler Stablecoins veröffentlicht. Die Schweiz beteiligt sich weiterhin aktiv an diesen Arbeiten.

Empfehlungen FSB (in Englisch)

 

Das Projekt Libra / Diem

Das Bewilligungsverfahren ist in der Schweiz Sache der Finanzmarktaufsichtsbehörde (FINMA). Damit ein Stablecoinprojekt bewilligt wird, muss es hohe Anforderungen hinsichtlich der Stabilität und der Geldwäschereibekämpfung erfüllen.

Im April 2020 reichte die Libra Association bei der FINMA ein Gesuch für eine Bewilligung als Zahlungssystem in der Schweiz ein.

Nach der Redimensionierung des Projekts, insbesondere der Beschränkung auf US-Dollar und der Fokussierung auf Aktivitäten in den USA, sistierte die Diem Association (die frühere Libra Association) im Mai 2021 das Bewilligungsgesuch.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 14.05.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF

Bundesgasse 3
3003 Bern

info@sif.admin.ch

Kontakt drucken

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/finanzmarktpolitik/digit_finanzsektor/libra.html