US Senate approves the protocol amending the DTA

iStock-503239114

On 17 July 2019, the US Senate approved the 2009 protocol amending the double taxation agreement (DTA) in the area of income tax between Switzerland and the USA. It is a milestone in the tax relations between Switzerland and the USA by introducing the exchange of information upon request in tax matters between the two countries according to the international standard. 

The current bilateral DTA between Switzerland and the USA dates back to 1996. On 23 September 2009, the two countries signed a protocol amending their DTA, which was approved by the Federal Assembly on 18 June 2010. In the USA, the Senate is responsible for approval. In recent years, however, no DTAs or amending protocols have been approved by the US Senate.

Formally, the protocol of amendment enters into force on the date of the exchange of the instruments of ratification. The core element of the protocol of amendment is the exchange of information: it provides that requests for information may be made from the entry into force of the protocol. Requests relating to financial accounts must concern cases from 23 September 2009 onwards (date of signature of the 2009 protocol of amendment).

There is now no difference between tax evasion and tax fraud. This is in line with the international standard on the exchange of information upon request, which Switzerland applies to more than 100 states and territories but did not previously apply to the USA.

Under the new provision, group requests are also allowed for cases of tax evasion. Under the FATCA Agreement, group requests are admissible for cases from 30 June 2014 onwards.

Further provisions are: dividends paid to individual retirement arrangements – pillar 3a in Switzerland – will be exempt from withholding tax from 1 January 2020 (provided the protocol of amendment enters into force in 2019). A mandatory arbitration clause ensures that double taxation is avoided even in cases where the competent authorities cannot reach an agreement in the mutual agreement procedure.

The Swiss Parliament no longer has to approve the protocol of amendment. The approval by the US Senate now paves the way for a further revision of the DTA. The aim of such a revision is to make further improvements which take account of developments since the DTA was signed in 1996.

Last modification 18.07.2019

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/dokumentation/fokus/us-senat-gibt-gruenes-licht-zum-aenderungsprotokoll.html

US-Senat genehmigt Änderungsprotokoll zum DBA

iStock-503239114

Am 17. Juli 2019 hat der US-Senat das Änderungsprotokoll von 2009 zum Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen (DBA) auf dem Gebiet der Einkommenssteuern zwischen der Schweiz und den USA genehmigt. Es handelt sich um einen Meilenstein in den steuerlichen Beziehungen zwischen der Schweiz und den USA, indem es den Informationsaustausch auf Ersuchen im Steuerbereich nach internationalem Standard zwischen den beiden Ländern einführt.

Das geltende bilaterale DBA zwischen der Schweiz und den USA stammt aus dem Jahr 1996. Am 23. September 2009 haben die beiden Länder ein Protokoll zur Änderung ihres DBA unterzeichnet, welches am 18. Juni 2010 von der Schweizerischen Bundesversammlung genehmigt wurde. In den USA ist der Senat für die Genehmigung zuständig. In den letzten Jahren wurden indessen keine DBA oder Änderungsprotolle mehr vom US-Senat genehmigt. 

Formell tritt das Änderungsprotokoll mit dem Datum des Austauschs der Ratifikationsurkunden in Kraft. Das Kernelement des Änderungsprotokolls liegt beim Informationsaustausch: Es sieht vor, dass Informationsersuchen ab dem Inkrafttreten des Protokolls gestellt werden können. Ersuchen zu Finanzkonten müssen Sachverhalte ab dem 23. September 2009 (Datum der Unterzeichnung des Änderungsprotokolls 2009) betreffen.

Neu gibt es keinen Unterschied zwischen Steuerhinterziehung und Steuerbetrug mehr. Dies steht im Einklang mit dem internationalen Standard über Informationsaustausch auf Ersuchen, den die Schweiz mit über 100 Staaten und Territorien, bislang aber nicht mit den USA, anwendet.

Nach der neuen Bestimmung sind Gruppenersuchen auch für Fälle von Steuerhinterziehung zulässig. Im Rahmen des FATCA-Abkommens sind Gruppenersuchen für Sachverhalte ab dem 30. Juni 2014 zulässig.

Weitere Bestimmungen sind: Dividenden an Einrichtungen der Selbstvorsorge – in der Schweiz die Säule 3a – werden ab dem 1. Januar 2020 (vorausgesetzt, das Änderungsprotokoll tritt im Jahr 2019 in Kraft) von Quellensteuern befreit. Eine obligatorische Schiedsklausel stellt sicher, dass eine Doppelbesteuerung auch in Fällen vermieden wird, bei welchen sich die zuständigen Behörden im Verständigungsverfahren nicht einigen können.

Das Schweizer Parlament muss das Änderungsprotokoll nicht mehr genehmigen. Die Genehmigung durch den US-Senat ebnet jetzt den Weg für eine weitere Revision des DBA. Ziel einer solchen Revision sind weitere Verbesserungen, die den Entwicklungen seit der Unterzeichnung des DBA im 1996 Rechnung tragen.

 

Letzte Änderung 18.07.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/dokumentation/fokus/us-senat-gibt-gruenes-licht-zum-aenderungsprotokoll.html