EU removes Switzerland from its watch list

10.10.2019 

Switzerland meets and implements international tax standards. The European Union has acknowledged this and is removing Switzerland from its watch list. The amendment shall enter into force upon publication of the revised Annexes in the Official Journal of the EU.

In May 2019, voters approved the Federal Act on Tax Reform and AHV Financing (TRAF) with over 66% of votes in favour. With this law, Switzerland will abolish tax regimes no longer compatible with international standards as of 1 January 2020. The law introduces internationally accepted tax relief measures such as a patent box, thereby ensuring that Switzerland remains an attractive business location.

Since December 2017, Switzerland has been included on an EU list of third countries that had committed themselves to complying with international tax standards but had not yet achieved full implementation of the rules – the so-called grey list. As early as October 2014, Switzerland and the 28 EU member states signed a mutual understanding on corporate taxation, which provided for the abolition of specified tax regimes by Switzerland. In return, the EU member states reaffirmed their intention to repeal any countermeasures taken once these regimes had been abolished. The approval of the TRAF means that Switzerland is honouring the commitment it entered into with the agreement signed in 2014.

The economics and finance ministers of the EU member states acknowledged this progress and decided at their meeting on 10 October 2019 to remove Switzerland from their tax list.

 
https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/dokumentation/fokus/graue-liste.html

EU streicht Schweiz von ihrer Beobachtungsliste

10.10.2019 

Die Schweiz erfüllt internationale Steuerstandards und setzt diese um. Dies würdigt jetzt auch die Europäische Union und streicht die Schweiz von ihrer Beobachtungsliste. Die Änderung tritt mit Publikation der revidierten Anhänge im Amtsblatt der EU in Kraft.

Im Mai 2019 hiessen die Stimmberechtigen das Bundesgesetz über die Steuerreform und die AHV-Finanzierung (STAF) mit über 66 Prozent Ja-Stimmen gut. Mit dem Gesetz schafft die Schweiz die Steuerregelungen per 1. Januar 2020 ab, die nicht mehr internationalen Standards entsprechen. Um die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Schweiz zu erhalten, werden international akzeptierte steuerliche Entlastungsmassnahmen wie zum Beispiel eine Patentbox eingeführt.

Seit Dezember 2017 figurierte die Schweiz auf einer EU-Liste von Drittstaaten, welche sich zwar verpflichtet hatten, internationale Steuerstandards einzuhalten, jedoch die vollständige Umsetzung der Regeln noch nicht erreicht hatten – die sogenannte graue Liste. Schon im Oktober 2014 hatten die Schweiz und die 28 EU-Mitgliedstaaten eine gemeinsame Verständigung zur Unternehmensbesteuerung unterzeichnet. Die Schweiz verpflichtete sich, die oben erwähnten Steuerregimes abzuschaffen. Im Gegenzug bekräftigten die EU-Mitgliedstaaten ihre Absicht, allenfalls getroffene Gegenmassnahmen nach erfolgter Abschaffung der fraglichen Regimes aufzuheben. Mit der Einführung der STAF erfüllt die Schweiz die Verpflichtungen, die sie mit der 2014 unterzeichneten Verständigung eingegangen war.

Die Finanz- und Wirtschaftsminister der EU-Mitgliedstaaten haben diese Fortschritte gewürdigt und an ihrer Sitzung vom 10. Oktober 2019 beschlossen, die Schweiz von ihrer Steuerliste zu streichen.

 

 

 
https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/dokumentation/fokus/graue-liste.html