Federal Council wants to further improve framework conditions for blockchain/DLT

During its meeting on 7 December 2018, the Federal Council adopted a report on the legal framework for blockchain and distributed ledger technology (DLT) in the financial sector. The report shows that Switzerland's legal framework is well suited to dealing with new technologies, including blockchain. Nevertheless, there is still a need for selective adjustments.

It is predicted that distributed ledger technology and blockchain technology have considerable potential for innovation and enhanced efficiency both in the financial sector and in other sectors of the economy. The Federal Council wishes to exploit the opportunities offered by digitalisation for Switzerland. It wants to create the best possible framework conditions so that Switzerland can establish itself and evolve as a leading, innovative and sustainable location for fintech and blockchain companies. Moreover, it wants to consistently combat abuses and ensure the integrity and good reputation of Switzerland as a financial centre and business location.

The report provides an analysis of relevant framework conditions, clarifies the need for action and proposes concrete measures. It is based on the work of the blockchain/ICO working group, which was set up by the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) in January 2018 and which also consulted the fintech and financial sector as part of its work. The analyses show that there is no need for fundamental adjustments to the Swiss legal framework, but that there is still a need for specific adjustments. The Federal Council has instructed the FDF and the Federal Department of Justice and Police (FDJP) to draw up a consultation draft in the first quarter of 2019 in a bid to:

-        in civil law, increase legal certainty for the transfer of rights by means of digital registers,

-        in insolvency law, further clarify the segregation of cryptobased assets in the event of bankruptcy and examine the segregation of data with no asset value,

-        in financial market law, devise a new and flexible authorisation category for blockchain-based financial market infrastructures,

-        in banking law, reconcile the bank insolvency law provisions with the adjustments in general insolvency law, and

-        in anti-money laundering law, more explicitly anchor the current practice of making decentralised trading platforms subject to the Anti-Money Laundering Act.

  

Medienseminar

Jörg Gasser, State Secretary for International Finance, Michael Manz, Deputy Head of the Financial System and Markets Division, and Arie Gerszt, Deputy Head of Capital Markets and Infrastructure, provided an in-depth insight into the technical finesse and subtleties of the report at a media seminar in Zug. The visit to the heart of the Crypto Valley underscored the relevance of blockchain technology and its impetus for the Swiss economy.

  

Further information

Last modification 14.12.2018

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/dokumentation/fokus/bericht-blockchain.html

Bundesrat will Rahmenbedingungen für Blockchain/DLT weiter verbessern

Der Bundesrat hat an seiner Sitzung vom 7. Dezember 2018 einen Bericht zu den rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen für Blockchain und Distributed-Ledger-Technologie (DLT) im Finanzsektor verabschiedet. Der Bericht zeigt auf, dass der Schweizer Rechtsrahmen gut geeignet ist, mit neuen Technologien inklusive Blockchain umzugehen. Dennoch besteht punktuell ein Anpassungsbedarf.

Der Distributed- Ledger- und Blockchain-Technologie wird sowohl im Finanzsektor als auch in anderen Wirtschaftssektoren ein erhebliches Innovations- und Effizienzsteigerungspotential vorausgesagt. Der Bundesrat will die Chancen der Digitalisierung für die Schweiz nutzen. Er will bestmögliche Rahmenbedingungen schaffen, damit sich die Schweiz als ein führender, innovativer und nachhaltiger Standort für Fintech- und Blockchain-Unternehmen etablieren und weiterentwickeln kann. Ebenso will er Missbräuche konsequent bekämpfen und die Integrität und gute Reputation des Finanz- und Wirtschaftsplatzes Schweiz gewährleisten.

Der Bericht nimmt eine Auslegeordnung relevanter Rahmenbedingungen vor, klärt den Handlungsbedarf und schlägt konkrete Massnahmen vor. Er basiert auf den Arbeiten der Arbeitsgruppe «Blockchain/ICO», die das Eidgenössische Finanzdepartement (EFD) im Januar 2018 ins Leben gerufen hatte und die im Rahmen ihrer Arbeiten auch die Fintech- und Finanzbranche konsultiert hat. Die Analysen zeigen, dass sich keine grundlegenden Anpassungen des Schweizer Rechtsrahmens aufdrängen, aber dennoch punktueller Anpassungsbedarf besteht. Der Bundesrat hat das EFD und das Eidgenössische Justiz- und Polizeidepartement (EJPD) beauftragt, im 1. Quartal 2019 eine Vernehmlassungsvorlage zu erarbeiten, mit dem Ziel:

-        im Zivilrecht die Rechtssicherheit bei der Übertragung von Rechten mittels digitalen Registern zu erhöhen,

-        im Insolvenzrecht die Aussonderung im Konkurs von kryptobasierten Vermögenswerten weiter zu klären sowie eine Aussonderung von nicht vermögenswerten Daten zu prüfen,

-        im Finanzmarktrecht ein neues und flexibles Bewilligungsgefäss für blockchainbasierte Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen auszuarbeiten,

-        im Bankenrecht die bankinsolvenzrechtlichen Bestimmungen mit den Anpassungen im allgemeinen Insolvenzrecht abzustimmen und

-        im Geldwäschereirecht die heutige Praxis zur Unterstellung dezentraler Handelsplattformen unter das Geldwäschereigesetz expliziter zu verankern.

  

Medienseminar

Jörg Gasser, Staatssekretär für internationale Finanzfragen, Michael Manz, stellvertretender Leiter Finanzsystem und Finanzmärkte, sowie Arie Gerszt, stellvertretender Leiter Kapitalmärkte und Infrastruktur, ermöglichten an einem Medienseminar in Zug einen vertieften Einblick in die technischen Finessen und Feinheiten des Berichts. Mit dem Besuch im Herzen des Crypto Valleys wurde die Relevanz der Blockchain-Technologie und deren Stosskraft für die Schweizer Wirtschaft unterstrichen.

  

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 14.12.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/dokumentation/fokus/bericht-blockchain.html