Limitation on ombudsman affiliation requirement

During its meeting on 11 December 2020, the Federal Council brought the limitation on the ombudsman affiliation requirement into force with effect from 1 February 2021. In the future, the ombudsman affiliation requirement will apply only to those financial service providers that serve retail clients.  

On 25 September 2020, Parliament adopted the Federal Act on the Adaptation of Federal Law to Developments in Distributed Ledger Technology (DLT bill). With the blanket law, various federal laws will be adapted in such a way that Switzerland can continue to develop as a leading, innovative and sustainable location in the blockchain and DLT area.

As part of the parliamentary deliberations on the DLT blanket law, Parliament also adopted amendments to the Financial Services Act (FinSA) and the Financial Institutions Act (FinIA) in connection with the ombudsman affiliation requirement. In the future, the ombudsman affiliation requirement will apply only to those financial service providers that serve retail clients. It does not apply to financial service providers serving solely institutional or professional clients (excluding high-net-worth retail clients who have declared themselves to be professionals). Financial institutions that provide no financial services at all do not have to be affiliated to an ombudsman in any case.

The current legal situation requires all financial service providers to be affiliated to an ombudsman by 25 December 2020. In order to avoid a situation whereby financial service providers that serve solely institutional or professional clients have to be affiliated to an ombudsman initially, only to be released from this requirement a few months later, the limitation on the ombudsman affiliation requirement decided by Parliament shall be brought into force on the earliest possible date. Since it is first necessary to wait for the referendum deadline to expire, this is 1 February 2021. The affiliation requirement for financial service providers serving solely institutional or professional clients would be contrary to the clear intention of the parliament. For this reason, it has been agreed with FINMA that the supervisory authority will not enforce this requirement in the period from 26 December 2020 to 31 January 2021.

Further details:

SIF Legal Services
rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch
Tel. +41 58 465 34 81
 

Last modification 11.12.2020

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/dokumentation/fachinformationen/ombudsstelle.html

Einschränkung der Anschlusspflicht an eine Ombudsstelle

Das Eidgenössische Finanzdepartement (EFD) beantragt dem Bundesrat, die durch das Parlament im Rahmen des DLT-Gesetzes beschlossene Einschränkung der Anschlusspflicht an eine Ombudsstelle bereits per 1. Februar 2021 in Kraft zu setzen.

Am 25. September 2020 hat das Parlament das Bundesgesetz zur Anpassung des Bundesrechts an Entwicklungen der Technik verteilter elektronischer Register (DLT-Vorlage) verabschiedet. Mit dem Mantelgesetz werden verschiedene Bundesgesetze so angepasst, dass sich die Schweiz als ein führender, innovativer und nachhaltiger Standort im Bereich Blockchain-/Distributed-Ledger-Technologie weiterentwickeln kann.

Im Rahmen der parlamentarischen Beratung des DLT-Mantelgesetzes hat das Parlament auch Änderungen des Finanzdienstleistungsgesetzes (FIDLEG) und des Finanzinstitutsgesetzes (FINIG) im Zusammenhang mit der Anschlusspflicht an eine Ombudsstelle beschlossen. Neu sollen sich nur noch jene Finanzdienstleister einer Ombudsstelle anschliessen müssen, die Finanzdienstleistungen gegenüber Privatkundinnen und -kunden erbringen. Für Finanzdienstleister, die Finanzdienstleistungen ausschliesslich gegenüber institutionellen oder professionellen Kunden erbringen (ohne vermögende Privatkunden, die sich als professionell erklärt haben), entfällt diese Pflicht. Finanzinstitute, die überhaupt keine Finanzdienstleistungen erbringen, müssen sich ohnehin keiner Ombudsstelle anschliessen.

Gemäss aktueller Rechtslage müssen sich sämtliche Finanzdienstleister bis zum 25. Dezember 2020 einer Ombudsstelle anschliessen. Damit sich Finanzdienstleister, die Finanzdienstleistungen ausschliesslich gegenüber institutionellen oder professionellen Kunden erbringen, nicht vorerst einer Ombudsstelle anschliessen müssen, um wenige Monate darauf wieder von dieser Pflicht befreit zu werden, soll die vom Parlament beschlossene Einschränkung der Anschlusspflicht so rasch wie möglich in Kraft gesetzt werden. Da zunächst der Ablauf der Referendumsfrist abgewartet werden muss, ist dies der 1. Februar 2021. Die Anschlusspflicht für Finanzdienstleister, die Finanzdienstleistungen ausschliesslich gegenüber institutionellen oder professionellen Kunden erbringen, würde dem klaren Willen des Gesetzgebers widersprechen. Deshalb wurde mit der FINMA abgesprochen, dass die FINMA diese Pflicht im Zeitraum zwischen dem 26. Dezember 2020 und dem 31. Januar 2021 nicht durchsetzen wird.

Mit dem bundesrätlichen Entscheid ist Mitte Dezember 2020 zu rechnen. Um der Branche grössere Planungssicherheit zu gewähren, kommuniziert das EFD bereits zum heutigen Zeitpunkt.

Kontakt:

Rechtsdienst SIF
rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch
Tel. +41 58 46 53481
 

Letzte Änderung 09.11.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/dokumentation/fachinformationen/ombudsstelle.html