Switzerland suspends AEOI with Bulgaria

During its meeting on 20 September 2019, the Federal Council decided to immediately suspend the automatic exchange of financial account information (AEOI) with Bulgaria due to a problem with the country's data security. The systems and databases of Swiss tax administrations and financial institutions are not affected by this incident.           

The first automatic exchange on a reciprocal basis between Switzerland and Bulgaria took place in 2018 within the framework of the bilateral agreement between Switzerland and the European Union (EU). Following a data security incident affecting the Bulgarian National Revenue Agency in July 2019, the Agency confirmed to the Swiss authorities that individuals with tax residence in Switzerland holding financial accounts in Bulgaria and individuals with tax residence in Bulgaria with financial accounts in Switzerland were affected by the disruption.

In accordance with the Federal Act on the International Automatic Exchange of Information on Tax Matters (AEIA), the Federal Council had to formally approve the suspension of the exchange of data with Bulgaria. The Federal Tax Administration (FTA) will therefore not provide the Bulgarian tax authorities with 2018 financial account data supplied to it by the Swiss financial institutions at the end of September 2019.

Bulgaria will only receive information from its AEOI partners again once the data security problem has been resolved and the corrective measures taken have been validated by the Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes (Global Forum).


Contact :

Section Exchange of Information and Individual Taxation Section, State Secretariat for International Finance SIF, Tel. + 41 58 462 42 13, iaib@sif.admin.ch

 

 

 
 

Last modification 20.09.2019

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/dokumentation/fachinformationen/aia_bulgarien.html

Die Schweiz setzt den AIA mit Bulgarien aus

Der Bundesrat hat an seiner Sitzung vom 20. September 2019 beschlossen, aufgrund eines Datensicherheitsproblems mit Bulgarien den automatischen Informationsaustausch (AIA) über Finanzkonten mit diesem Staat unverzüglich auszusetzen. Die Systeme und die Datenbanken der Schweizer Steuerverwaltungen und Finanzinstitute sind von diesem Vorfall nicht betroffen.                    

Ein erster gegenseitiger automatischer Austausch zwischen der Schweiz und Bulgarien hat 2018 im Rahmen des bilateralen Abkommens zwischen der Schweiz und der Europäischen Union (EU) stattgefunden. Nach einem Datensicherheitsvorfall bei der staatlichen Steuerbehörde Bulgariens im Juli 2019 bestätigte diese den Schweizer Behörden, dass von diesem Problem Personen mit Steuersitz in der Schweiz und Finanzkonten in Bulgarien sowie umgekehrt Personen mit Steuersitz in Bulgarien und Finanzkonten in der Schweiz betroffen waren.

Gemäss dem Bundesgesetz über den internationalen automatischen Informationsaustausch in Steuersachen (AIAG) musste die Aussetzung des Informationsaustausches mit Bulgarien vom Bundesrat formell genehmigt werden. Die Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung (ESTV) wird den bulgarischen Behörden Ende September 2019 also keine Daten über die Finanzkonten 2018, die ihr von den Schweizer Finanzinstituten geliefert wurden, übermitteln.

Bulgarien wird von seinen AIA-Partnern erst wieder Daten erhalten können, wenn das Problem mit der Datensicherheit gelöst ist und die ergriffenen Korrekturmassnahmen vom Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes (Global Forum) bestätigt wurden.


Kontakt :

Sektion Informationsaustausch und Individualbesteuerung, Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SFI, 
Tel. + 41 58 462 42 13, iaib@sif.admin.ch 

 

Letzte Änderung 20.09.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/dokumentation/fachinformationen/aia_bulgarien.html