Double taxation agreements

Double taxation agreements (DTAs) prevent the double taxation of private individuals and legal entities with an international nexus in the area of taxes on income and capital. They are therefore an important element in promoting international economic activities. Switzerland currently has DTAs with over 100 countries and is seeking to extend its agreement network further. Switzerland also has eight agreements for the avoidance of double taxation with respect to inheritance and estate taxes.  

Country information
(in German, link to the Federal Tax Administration FTA)
 
Double taxation agreements: overview
 
Shipping and air transport: overview
 
Texts of agreements: Classified Compilation of Federal Legislation
(in German) 


Double taxation typically occurs when two states tax the same income or assets of a taxpayer. Most of the provisions of a DTA are dedicated to avoiding double taxation by giving the contracting states the right to tax the individual types of income and assets. However, they merely restrict the contracting states' taxation right. The basis for taxation lies in the contracting states' domestic law. 

The list of persons who can benefit from a DTA is long and varied and includes: 

  • Persons who simultaneously have a permanent residence in two states;

  • Export companies and groups with foreign subsidiaries that are protected from double taxation by a DTA; 

  • Employed persons with temporary work assignments abroad.

DTAs additionally have an important function for investments of all kinds abroad, as they avoid double taxation on profits and revenue from foreign investments. Moreover, a DTA generally contains certain bans on discrimination, a dispute resolution mechanism and a clause on the exchange of information upon request.

The DTA with Zambia and the protocols amending the DTAs with Ecuador, the United Kingdom and the United States have been in force since the beginning of 2019. In addition, protocols amending the DTAs with Bahrain, Iran, Ireland, Kuwait, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, South Korea, Sweden and Ukraine were signed.
    

The outcomes of the base erosion and profit shifting (BEPS) project contain recommendations which require existing DTAs to be amended. Existing DTAs can be adapted to the treaty-related solutions developed in the BEPS project by means of the Multilateral Convention to Implement Tax Treaty Related Measures (BEPS Convention). 

The BEPS Convention came into force on 1 December 2019. With it, Switzerland intends to adapt the DTAs with Argentina, Austria, Chile, the Czech Republic, Iceland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Portugal, South Africa and Turkey to the treaty-related BEPS minimum standards. 

In order for the amendments introduced by the BEPS Convention to take effect, Switzerland must make an additional notification to the depositary of the BEPS Convention indicating that the necessary procedures have been completed. The first such case concerned Luxembourg. In a Memorandum of Understanding of 12 May 2020, the competent authorities of Switzerland and Luxembourg adopted the exact wording of the amendments provided in the BEPS Convention (see RO 2020 2641 and RO 2020 2715, in German). The procedure has thus been completed and Switzerland has made the aforementioned notification to the depositary of the BEPS Convention. The amendments are reflected in the double taxation agreement between Switzerland and Luxembourg.

Switzerland intends to adapt DTAs which will not be amended by the BEPS Convention to the BEPS minimum standards by means of bilateral amendments to the DTAs.

Further information

Media

26.08.2020
Federal Council adopts dispatches on new double taxation agreement with Bahrain and amendments to DTA with Kuwait

20.07.2020
Switzerland and Cyprus sign protocol of amendment to their double taxation agreement

16.07.2020
Switzerland and Malta sign protocol of amendment to their double taxation agreement

14.07.2020
Switzerland and Liechtenstein sign protocol of amendment to their double taxation agreement

29.11.2019
BEPS Convention enters into force

25.11.2019
Switzerland and Bahrain sign double taxation agreement

7.11.2019
Switzerland and Kuwait sign protocol of amendment to double taxation agreement

28.10.2019
Amendments to double taxation agreement with United Kingdom in force

20.09.2019
Federal Council adopts dispatches on amendment of double taxation agreements with Ireland and Korea  

08.08.2019
Switzerland and New Zealand sign protocol of amendment to double taxation agreement

30.07.2019
New double taxation agreement between Switzerland and Zambia enters into force

20.06.2019
Switzerland and Norway sign protocol of amendment to double taxation agreement

19.06.2019
Switzerland and Sweden sign protocol of amendment to double taxation agreement

13.06.2019
Switzerland and Ireland sign protocol of amendment to double taxation agreement

12.06.2019
Switzerland and Netherlands sign protocol of amendment to double taxation agreement

03.06.2019
Switzerland and Iran sign protocol of amendment to double taxation agreement

17.05.2019
Switzerland and South Korea sign protocol of amendment to double taxation agreement

24.01.2019
Switzerland and Ukraine sign protocol of amendment to double taxation agreement

Last modification 18.09.2020

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/bilateral/steuerabkommen/doppelbesteuerungsabkommen.html

Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen

Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen (DBA) vermeiden die Doppelbesteuerung von natürlichen und juristischen Personen mit internationalen Anknüpfungspunkten im Bereich der Steuern vom Einkommen und vom Vermögen. Sie sind deshalb ein wichtiges Element zur Förderung internationaler Wirtschaftsaktivitäten. Die Schweiz zählt derzeit DBA mit über 100 Staaten und ist bestrebt, das Abkommensnetz weiter auszubauen. Weiter verfügt die Schweiz über acht Abkommen zur Vermeidung der Doppelbesteuerung auf dem Gebiet der Erbschafts- und Nachlasssteuern.      

Eine Doppelbesteuerung entsteht typischerweise, wenn zwei Staaten die gleichen Einkünfte oder Vermögenssteile eines Steuerpflichtigen besteuern. Die meisten Bestimmungen eines DBA widmen sich der Vermeidung der Doppelbesteuerung, indem sie den Vertragsstaaten das Besteuerungsrecht für die einzelnen Einkommens- und Vermögensarten zuteilen. Sie schränken das Besteuerungsrecht der Vertragsstaaten indessen bloss ein. Die Grundlage für die Besteuerung liegt im innerstaatlichen Recht der Vertragsstaaten. 

Die Liste der Personen, die von einem DBA profitieren können, ist lang und vielfältig, z. B.: 

  • Personen, die gleichzeitig in zwei Staaten über eine feste Wohnstätte verfügen;
  • Exportunternehmen und Konzerne mit ausländischen Tochtergesellschaften, die durch ein DBA vor Doppelbesteuerungen geschützt werden;
  • Erwerbstätige mit temporären Arbeitseinsätzen im Ausland.

Eine wesentliche Funktion haben DBA zudem für Investitionen im Ausland aller Art, da sie Doppelbesteuerungen auf den Gewinnen und Erträgen aus Auslandinvestitionen vermeiden. Zusätzlich enthält ein DBA in der Regel auch gewisse Diskriminierungsverbote, einen Streitbeilegungsmechanismus sowie eine Klausel über den Informationsaustausch auf Ersuchen.

Seit Anfang 2019 sind das DBA mit Sambia sowie die Protokolle zur Änderung der DBA mit Ecuador, Grossbritannien und den USA in Kraft getreten. Weiter wurden Protokolle zur Änderung der DBA mit Bahrain, Iran, Irland, Kuwait, Neuseeland, den Niederlanden, Norwegen, Schweden, Südkorea und der Ukraine unterzeichnet.
     

Die Ergebnisse des BEPS-Projekts (Base erosion and profit shifting) enthalten Empfehlungen, welche die Anpassung bestehender DBA erfordern. Bestehende DBA können mit dem Übereinkommen zur Umsetzung von abkommensbezogenen BEPS-Massnahmen (BEPS-Übereinkommen) an die im BEPS-Projekt entwickelten abkommensbezogenen Lösungen angepasst werden.

Das BEPS-Übereinkommen ist am 1. Dezember 2019 in Kraft getreten. Die Schweiz beabsichtigt, mit dem BEPS-Übereinkommen die DBA mit Argentinien, Chile, Island, Italien, Litauen, Luxemburg, Mexiko, Österreich, Portugal, Südafrika, Tschechien und der Türkei an die abkommensbezogenen BEPS-Mindeststandards anzupassen.

Damit die Änderungen durch das BEPS-Übereinkommen wirksam werden können, bedarf es einer zusätzlichen Notifikation durch die Schweiz an den Depositar des BEPS-Übereinkommens, mit welcher der Abschluss der nötigen Verfahren angezeigt wird. Ein erster solcher Fall betrifft Luxemburg: Mit Verständigungsvereinbarung vom 12. Mai 2020 haben die zuständigen Behörden der Schweiz und Luxemburgs den genauen Wortlaut der Änderungen durch das BEPS-Übereinkommen festgehalten (siehe AS 2020 2641 und AS 2020 2715). Damit ist das Verfahren abgeschlossen und die Schweiz hat die erwähnte Notifikation an den Depositar des BEPS-Übereinkommens vorgenommen. Die Änderungen werden im Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen zwischen der Schweiz und Luxemburg nachvollzogen.

DBA, die nicht durch das BEPS-Übereinkommen geändert werden, beabsichtigt die Schweiz durch bilaterale Änderungen der DBA an die BEPS-Mindeststandards anzupassen.

 

Weiterführende Informationen

Medien

26.08.2020
Bundesrat verabschiedet Botschaften zum neuen Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen mit Bahrain und zu den Änderungen des DBA mit Kuwait

20.07.2020
Schweiz und Zypern unterzeichnen Änderungsprotokoll zum Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen

16.07.2020
Schweiz und Malta unterzeichnen Änderungsprotokoll zum Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen

14.07.2020
Schweiz und Liechtenstein unterzeichnen Änderungsprotokoll zum Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen

29.11.2019
BEPS-Übereinkommen tritt in Kraft

25.11.2019
Die Schweiz und Bahrain unterzeichnen Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen

7.11.2019
Schweiz und Kuwait unterzeichnen Änderungsprotokoll zum Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen

28.10.2019
Änderungen des Doppelbesteuerungsabkommens mit dem Vereinigten Königreich sind in Kraft

20.09.2019
Bundesrat verabschiedet Botschaften zu den Änderungen der Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen mit Irland und Korea

08.08.2019
Schweiz und Neuseeland unterzeichnen Änderungsprotokoll zum Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen

30.07.2019
Neues Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen zwischen der Schweiz und Sambia tritt in Kraft

20.06.2019
Schweiz und Norwegen unterzeichnen Änderungsprotokoll zum Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen

19.06.2019
Schweiz und Schweden unterzeichnen Änderungsprotokoll zum Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen

13.06.2019
Schweiz und Irland unterzeichnen Änderungsprotokoll zum Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen

12.06.2019
Schweiz und Niederlande unterzeichnen Änderungsprotokoll zum Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen

03.06.2019
Schweiz und Iran unterzeichnen Änderungsprotokoll zum Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen

17.05.2019
Schweiz und Südkorea unterzeichnen Änderungsprotokoll zum Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen

24.01.2019
Schweiz und Ukraine unterzeichnen Änderungsprotokoll zum Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen

 

Letzte Änderung 18.09.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF

Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen
Bundesgasse 3
3003 Bern
Tel. +41 (0)58 462 71 29
dba@sif.admin.ch

Kontakt drucken

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/bilateral/steuerabkommen/doppelbesteuerungsabkommen.html