United Kingdom

The United Kingdom (UK) is an important economic and political partner of Switzerland. Relations between the two countries are also close in the financial sector. The two countries hold regular financial dialogues which serve to establish and maintain privileged contacts with the authorities involved in financial matters.

On 23 June 2016, the UK electorate voted in favour of leaving the European Union (EU). This decision came into force on 31 January 2020 on the basis of the withdrawal agreement negotiated between the EU and the UK. The transition period set out in the withdrawal agreement expired on 31 December 2020. As of 1 January 2021, the UK is no longer part of the EU internal market and the customs union, and is no longer bound by EU law.

Financial sector

To date, relations between Switzerland and the UK have been largely based on bilateral agreements between Switzerland and the EU. This is also true of the financial sector. With Brexit (i.e. after the end of the transition period agreed), these agreements do no longer apply to the UK. For this reason, in October 2016, the Federal Council launched its "Mind the gap" strategy, in order to best ensure and, if need be, extend the existing reciprocal rights and obligations between the two countries.

The Federal Council's "Mind the gap" strategy

In order to provide a seamless continuation of the current regulations in the financial sector, Switzerland and the UK signed an agreement on 25 January 2019 on direct insurance other than life assurance (UK-Swiss DIA). Like the insurance agreement with the EU, this agreement allows non-life insurance companies (e.g. household and travel insurers) to operate branches in the other country. On 1 January 2021, the Swiss-UK DIA came into force, seamlessly replacing the current legal basis in the area of insurance.

UK-Swiss direct insurance agreement

Accompanying decision of the contracting parties to the UK-Swiss DIA

The Swiss and UK financial market supervisory authorities were involved in the work on the "Mind the gap" strategy and, for their part, took the necessary steps to ensure the existing reciprocal rights and obligations at supervisory authority level (e.g. by adapting supervision-related cooperation agreements).

On 30 June 2020, Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer and the British Chancellor of the Exchequer, Rishi Sunak, signed a joint statement on intensified future cooperation between the two countries in the area of financial services, thus underlining their shared intention to deepen financial relations. The envisaged agreement should enable cross-border market access for a wide range of financial services relating to insurance, banking, asset management and capital market infrastructure. On 27 January 2021, the two ministers agreed on the further steps for concrete negotiations on the individual topics.

Joint statement

On 3 February 2021, the UK recognised Swiss stock exchange regulation as equivalent. As a result, Switzerland deactivated the stock exchange protective measure in relation to the UK on the same day.

Tax matters

In the area of taxation, a double taxation agreement (DTA) exists between Switzerland and the UK. The DTA has been revised several times, most recently by means of a protocol of amendment which entered into force on 19 July 2019.

DTA and protocols of amendment

In the area of administrative assistance in tax matters, the UK, like Switzerland, is a contracting party to the OECD/Council of Europe Multilateral Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters. This is the basis on which the two countries exchange information on request.

Switzerland and the EU signed an agreement on the AEOI in 2015. Since autumn 2018, data has been exchanged between Switzerland and the United Kingdom on this basis. As of 1 January 2021, the AEOI is continued on the basis of a Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement (MCAA).

Further information

Last modification 01.02.2021

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/bilateral/lander/vereinigtes-koenigreich-uk-.html

Vereinigtes Königreich UK

Das Vereinigte Königreich (UK) ist wirtschaftlich und politisch ein wichtiger Partner der Schweiz. Auch im Finanzbereich sind die Beziehungen zwischen den beiden Ländern eng. Beide Länder führen regelmässig Finanzdialoge, die dazu dienen, privilegierte Kontakte mit den in Finanzfragen involvierten Behörden aufzubauen und zu pflegen.

Am 23. Juni 2016 sprach sich die Stimmbevölkerung des UK für einen Austritt aus der Europäischen Union (EU) aus. Dieser Entscheid wurde am 31. Januar 2020, gestützt auf das zwischen der EU und dem UK ausgehandelte Austrittsabkommen, vollzogen. Die im Austrittsabkommen vereinbarte Übergangsperiode ist am 31. Dezember 2020 ausgelaufen. Seit dem 1. Januar 2021 ist das UK nicht mehr Teil des EU-Binnenmarkts sowie der Zollunion und nicht mehr an EU-Recht gebunden.

 

Finanzbereich

Die Beziehungen Schweiz–UK basierten bis anhin massgeblich auf den bilateralen Abkommen zwischen der Schweiz und der EU. Dies gilt ebenfalls für den Finanzbereich. Mit dem EU-Austritt (bzw. nach dem Ende der Übergangsperiode) sind die bilateralen Abkommen Schweiz-EU nicht mehr auf das UK anwendbar. Bereits im Oktober 2016 hat der Bundesrat deshalb seine «Mind the Gap»-Strategie mit dem Ziel, die geltenden gegenseitigen Rechte und Pflichten der beiden Länder bestmöglich sicherzustellen und allenfalls auszubauen, beschlossen.

«Mind-the-Gap»-Strategie des Bundesrates

Für eine lückenlose Weiterführung der heutigen Regelungen im Finanzbereich haben die Schweiz und das UK am 25. Januar 2019 ein Abkommen betreffend die Direktversicherung mit Ausnahme der Lebensversicherung (DVA Schweiz-UK) unterzeichnet. Wie das Ver­sicherungs­abkommen mit der EU ermöglicht es Versicherungsunternehmen im Nicht­lebens­ge­schäft (z.B. Hausrats- oder Reiseversicherungen), im jeweils anderen Land Zweig­nieder­lassungen zu betreiben. Am 1. Januar 2021 wurde das DVA Schweiz-UK in Kraft gesetzt und die bisherige Rechtsgrundlage im Versicherungsbereich nahtlos ersetzt. 

Direktversicherungsabkommen Schweiz-UK

Begleitender Beschluss der Vertragsparteien zum DVA Schweiz-UK

Die Finanzmarktaufsichtsbehörden der Schweiz und des UK waren in die Arbeiten zur «Mind the Gap»-Strategie einbezogen und haben ihrerseits die erforderlichen Schritte zur Sicherstellung der bestehenden gegenseitigen Rechte und Pflichten auf Stufe der Aufsichtsbehörde (bspw. durch Anpassung von aufsichtsbezogenen Kooperationsvereinbarungen) unternommen.

Am 30. Juni 2020 haben Bundesrat Ueli Maurer und der britische Schatzkanzler, Rishi Sunak, eine Erklärung über die künftige vertiefte Zusammenarbeit für Finanzdienstleistungen (Joint Statement) zwischen den beiden Ländern unterzeichnet und damit die gemeinsame Absicht für eine Vertiefung der Finanzbeziehungen unterstrichen. Das angestrebte Abkommen soll den grenzüberschreitenden Marktzugang für eine breite Palette an Finanzdienstleistungen im Versicherungs-, Banken-, Asset Management- sowie Kapitalmarktinfrastrukturbereich ermöglichen. Am 27. Januar 2021 vereinbarten beide Minister weitere Schritte für konkrete Verhandlungen zu den einzelnen Themen.

Joint Statement

Am 3. Februar 2021 hat das UK die Schweizer Börsenregulierung als gleichwertig anerkannt. Im Zuge dessen hat die Schweiz am gleichen Tag die Börsenschutzmassnahme im Verhältnis zum UK deaktiviert. 

Steuerbereich

Im Steuerbereich besteht zwischen der Schweiz und dem UK ein Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen (DBA) Das DBA wurde mehrmals revidiert, letztmals mittels einem Änderungsprotokoll, welches am 19. Juli 2019 in Kraft getreten ist.

DBA und Änderungsprotokolle

Im Bereich der steuerlichen Amtshilfe ist das UK, wie auch die Schweiz, Vertragspartei des multilateralen Übereinkommens des Europarats und der OECD über die gegenseitige Amtshilfe in Steuersachen. Auf dieser Grundlage tauschen die beiden Länder Informationen auf Ersuchen aus.

Die Schweiz und die EU haben im Jahr 2015 eine Vereinbarung über den AIA unterzeichnet. Ab Herbst 2018 wurden Daten zwischen der Schweiz und dem Vereinigten Königreich auf dieser Grundlage ausgetauscht. Seit dem 1. Januar 2021 wird der AIA gestützt auf das Multilaterale Vereinbarung der zuständigen Behörden über den automatischen Informationsaustausch über Finanzkonten (Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement; MCAA) weitergeführt.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 16.04.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/bilateral/lander/vereinigtes-koenigreich-uk-.html