FATCA agreement

The agreement between Switzerland and the United States on cooperation to simplify the implementation of FATCA entered into force on 2 June 2014. The corresponding implementing act has been in force since 30 June 2014.

The Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) is a unilateral set of US regulations that applies worldwide for all countries. It requires foreign financial institutions to disclose information on US accounts to the Internal Revenue Service or levy a high tax.

The administrative and financial burden associated with the implementation of FATCA is considerable for foreign financial institutions. The FATCA agreement reduces this burden as it makes provision for administrative simplifications for Swiss financial institutions.

Models 1 and 2

FATCA implementation in Switzerland is based on Model 2, which means Swiss financial institutions disclose account details directly to the US tax authority with the consent of the US clients concerned. Where US clients do not give their consent, the United States has to request this data through normal administrative assistance channels.

Since 20 September 2019 – when the protocol of amendment to the double taxation agreement between Switzerland and the USA came into force – FATCA group requests can be made for cases from 30 June 2014. Further information, in particular guidance on preparing FATCA group requests, can be found on the Federal Tax Administration website:

FATCA group requests

On 8 October 2014, the Federal Council approved the mandate for negotiations with the United States on switching to Model 1, which provides for the automatic exchange of information. It is still unknown at the present time when there will be a corresponding agreement.

42_EN

FATCA Qualification Committee

The FATCA Qualification Committee promotes cooperation between the stakeholders involved. It deals with issues arising from the implementation of the FATCA agreement. However, Switzerland is not autonomous in the interpretation of the agreement. In certain cases, consultation with the USA is required. The assessments reflect the opinion of the FATCA Qualification Committee, which has been consulted together with the relevant US authorities where necessary.

Leadership of the Qualification Committee lies with SIF. The other members include the Federal Tax Administration FTA, the Federal Social Insurance Office FSIO and the following institutions: the Swiss Bankers Association, the Swiss Pension Fund Association, the Swiss Insurance Association, the Swiss Funds & Asset Management Association, SwissHoldings, the Swiss Association of Asset Managers and SIX Group.

Further information


Last modification 13.08.2020

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/bilateral/lander/vereinigen-staaten-von-amerika-usa/fatca-abkommen.html

FATCA-Abkommen

Das Abkommen zwischen der Schweiz und den Vereinigten Staaten über die Zusammenarbeit für eine erleichterte Umsetzung von FATCA ist am 2. Juni 2014 in Kraft getreten. Das entsprechende Umsetzungsgesetz ist seit dem 30. Juni 2014 in Kraft.

Der «Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act» (FATCA) ist eine unilaterale US-Regelung, die weltweit für alle Länder gilt. Sie verlangt von ausländischen Finanzinstituten, dass sie den US-Steuerbehörden Informationen über US-Konten weitergeben oder eine hohe Steuer erheben.

Für ausländische Finanzinstitute ist die Umsetzung von FATCA mit grossem administrativem und finanziellem Aufwand verbunden. Dieser Aufwand wird durch das FATCA-Abkommen reduziert, weil das Abkommen für die schweizerischen Finanzinstitute administrative Erleichterungen vorsieht.

Modelle 1 und 2

Die Umsetzung erfolgt in der Schweiz nach dem so genannten Modell 2. Demnach melden schweizerische Finanzinstitute die Kontodaten mit Zustimmung der betroffenen US-Kunden direkt an die US-Steuerbehörde. Daten über nicht zustimmende US-Kunden müssen die USA auf dem ordentlichen Amtshilfeweg anfordern.

Seit dem 20. September 2019 – Inkrafttreten des Änderungsprotokolls zum Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen zwischen der Schweiz und den USA – können FATCA-Gruppenersuchen für Sachverhalte ab dem 30. Juni 2014 gestellt werden. Weitere Informationen, insbesondere eine Anleitung zur Vorbereitung der FATCA-Gruppenersuchen, können der Internetseite der ESTV entnommen werden:

FATCA-Gruppenersuchen

Am 8. Oktober 2014 hat der Bundesrat ein Mandat zu Verhandlungen mit den USA über einen Wechsel zu Modell 1 beschlossen, das den automatischen Informationsaustausch vorsieht. Wann ein entsprechendes Abkommen vorliegen wird, ist zum gegenwärtigen Zeitpunkt noch ungewiss.

42_DE

FATCA-Qualifikationsgremium

Das FATCA-Qualifikationsgremium dient der Zusammenarbeit der beteiligten Interessenvertreter. Es behandelt Fragen, die sich bei der Umsetzung des FATCA-Abkommens ergeben. In der Auslegung des Abkommens ist die Schweiz allerdings nicht autonom, vielmehr ist in gewissen Fällen eine Rücksprache mit den USA erforderlich. Die Beurteilungen geben die Auffassung des FATCA-Qualifikationsgremiums wieder, die, wo erforderlich, mit den zuständigen US-Behörden konsultiert worden ist.

Die Leitung des Qualifikationsgremiums liegt beim SIF. Beteiligt sind weiter die Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung, das Bundesamt für Sozialversicherungen sowie die folgenden Institutionen: Schweizerische Bankiervereinigung, Schweizerischer Pensionskassenverband, Schweizerischer Versicherungsverband, Swiss Funds & Asset Management Association SFAMA, SwissHoldings; Verband Schweizerischer Vermögensverwalter und SIX Group.

Weiterführende Informationen


Eidgenössiche Steuerverwaltung (ESTV)

Letzte Änderung 12.08.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/bilateral/lander/vereinigen-staaten-von-amerika-usa/fatca-abkommen.html