European Union

Access to EU markets is of strategic importance for the Swiss financial sector. In the tax arena, the agreement between Switzerland and the EU on the automatic exchange of financial account information has been in force since 1 January 2017. The TRAF tax reform, which abolished controversial tax regimes, came into force on 1 January 2020.

Financial sector

Numerous pieces of EU financial market legislation include provisions that regulate relations with third countries. These provisions regularly provide for market access and/or reduced prudential requirements if the third country has equivalent regulation (equivalence).

Equivalence procedures are an important element in maintaining the competitiveness of the Swiss financial centre. Recognition of the equivalence of Swiss regulation and supervision by the EU enables Swiss financial service providers to access some areas of the EU internal market or to benefit from regulatory simplifications for foreign business.

In recent years, various equivalence decisions have been adopted by the EU in recognition of the Swiss legal framework. SIF is committed to the rapid initiation and conclusion of further equivalence procedures in several areas.

Equivalence procedures with the EU

Taxation

The agreement between Switzerland and the EU on the automatic exchange of financial account information (AEOI) has been in force since 1 January 2017 and applies for all EU member states. The agreement implements the global AEOI standard of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). It helps to combat cross-border tax evasion.

AEOI agreement with the EU (in French, German and Italian)

On 14 October 2014, Switzerland and the 28 EU member states signed a joint statement on business taxation, in which Switzerland undertook to abolish five controversial tax regimes and the EU member states reaffirmed their intention to repeal any countermeasures taken once the tax regimes in question had been abolished.

Swiss voters approved the Federal Act on Tax Reform and AHV Financing (TRAF) in a referendum in May 2019. With the full entry into force of the TRAF on 1 January 2020, Switzerland abolished tax regimes that were no longer in line with international standards. Internationally compatible tax measures, such as a patent box, were introduced to ensure that Switzerland remains competitive. The economics and finance ministers of the EU member states acknowledged this progress and decided during their meeting on 10 October 2019 to remove Switzerland from their tax list.

TRAF

 

Further information

Last modification 24.09.2020

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/bilateral/lander/europaeische-union-eu.html

Europäische Union EU

Der Zugang zu den Märkten der Europäischen Union ist für die Schweizer Finanzbranche von strategischer Bedeutung. Im Steuerbereich ist seit dem 1. Januar 2017 das Abkommen zwischen der Schweiz und der EU über den automatischen Informationsaustausch über Finanzkonten in Kraft. Am 1. Januar 2020 ist die Steuerreform (STAF) in Kraft getreten, die umstrittene Steuerregimes abgeschafft hat.

Finanzbereich

Zahlreiche EU-Rechtsakte im Finanzmarktrecht enthalten Bestimmungen, welche das Verhält­nis zu Drittstaaten regeln. Regelmässig sehen diese Bestimmungen eine Markt­zugangs­möglich­keit und/oder aufsichtsrechtliche Erleichterungen vor, falls der Drittstaat eine gleich­wertige Regulierung (Äquivalenz) vorweisen kann.

Äquivalenzverfahren sind ein wichtiges Element für den Erhalt der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Schweizer Finanzplatzes. Die Äquivalenzanerkennung der Schweizer Regulierung und Aufsicht durch die EU ermöglicht Schweizer Finanzdienstleistern den Zugang zum EU-Binnenmarkt in Teilbereichen oder regulatorische Erleichterungen im Auslandgeschäft.

Bereits in den vergangenen Jahren konnten verschiedene Äquivalenzanerkennungen des Schwei­zer Rechtsrahmens bei der EU erreicht werden. Das SIF setzt sich in mehreren Bereichen für eine rasche Einleitung bzw. einen raschen Abschluss von weiteren Äquivalenzverfahren ein.

Äquivalenzverfahren mit der EU

Steuerbereich

Seit dem 1. Januar 2017 ist das Abkommen zwischen der Schweiz und der EU über den automatischen Informationsaustausch über Finanzkonten (AIA) in Kraft und gilt für alle EU-Mitgliedstaaten. Das Abkommen setzt den globalen AIA-Standard der Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (OECD) um. Es trägt zur Bekämpfung der grenzüberschreitenden Steuerhinterziehung bei.

AIA Abkommen mit der EU

Am 14. Oktober 2014 unterzeichneten die Schweiz und die 28 EU-Mitgliedstaaten eine gemeinsame Verständigung zur Unternehmensbesteuerung, Darin verpflichtete sich die Schweiz fünf umstrittene Steuerregimes abzuschaffen, während die EU-Mitgliedstaaten ihre Absicht bekräftigten, allenfalls getroffene Gegenmassnahmen nach erfolgter Abschaffung der fraglichen Regimes aufzuheben.

Im Mai 2019 hiessen die Schweizer Stimmberechtigen anlässlich einer Volksabstimmung das Bundesgesetz über die Steuerreform und die AHV-Finanzierung (STAF) gut. Mit vollständigem Inkrafttreten der STAF am 1. Januar 2020 schuf die Schweiz die nicht mehr mit internationalen Standards im Einklang stehenden Steuerregimes ab. Damit die Schweiz weiterhin wettbewerbsfähig bleibt, wurden international kompatible steuerliche Massnahmen wie zum Beispiel eine Patentbox eingeführt. Die Finanz- und Wirtschaftsminister der EU-Mitgliedstaaten haben diese Fortschritte gewürdigt und an ihrer Sitzung vom 10. Oktober 2019 beschlossen, die Schweiz von ihrer Steuerliste zu streichen. 

STAF

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 24.09.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/bilateral/lander/europaeische-union-eu.html