United Kingdom UK

The United Kingdom (UK) is an important economic and political partner of Switzerland. In 2018, the UK was the sixth most important sales market for Swiss exports of goods (CHF 8.8 bn) and the eighth most important source market for imports of goods (CHF 7.7 bn). Relations between the two countries are also close in the financial sector.    

On 23 June 2016, the UK electorate voted in favour of leaving the European Union (EU). This decision came into force on 31 January 2020 on the basis of the withdrawal agreement negotiated between the EU and the UK. On 1 February 2020, the transition period set out in the withdrawal agreement began. During this period, the UK remains part of the EU internal market and the customs union, and also remains bound by EU law.

To date, relations between Switzerland and the UK have been largely based on bilateral agreements between Switzerland and the EU. This is also true of the financial sector. With Brexit (i.e. after the end of the transition period agreed between the EU and the UK), these agreements will no longer apply to the UK. For this reason, in October 2016, the Federal Council launched its "mind the gap" strategy, in order to best ensure and, if need be, extend the existing reciprocal rights and obligations between the two countries (Federal Council strategy).

In the financial sector, the 1989 Agreement between the European Economic Community and the Swiss Confederation on direct insurance other than life assurance (EU-Swiss DIA) would no longer be applicable after the UK has left the EU (i.e. after the end of the transition period). In order to ensure a seamless continuation of the current regulations in these areas, Switzerland and the UK signed an agreement on 25 January 2019 on direct insurance other than life assurance (UK-Swiss DIA). Like the insurance agreement with the EU, it will enable non-life insurance companies (e.g. household, motor vehicle, travel, liability insurers) to establish and operate branches in a country of the other contracting party.

After the UK has left the EU, the basis for the direct insurance agreement will be as follows:

  • During the transition period (at least until end-2020), the EU's third-country agreements, such as the bilateral agreements between it and Switzerland, remain applicable to the UK. This is also the case for the EU-Swiss DIA. Therefore, nothing changes between Switzerland and the UK during this period.

  • After the end of the transition period, the new UK-Swiss DIA will come into force, seamlessly replacing the previous legal basis in the area of insurance (EU-Swiss DIA).

Texts of the agreements between Switzerland and the UK signed on 25 January 2019:

  • UK-Swiss direct insurance agreement
  • Accompanying decision of the contracting parties to the UK-Swiss DIA

The Swiss and UK financial market supervisory authorities were involved in the work on the "mind the gap" strategy and have, for their part, taken the necessary steps to ensure the existing reciprocal rights and obligations at supervisory authority level (e.g. by adapting supervision-related cooperation agreements).

In the area of taxation, Switzerland and the UK concluded an agreement for the avoidance of double taxation with respect to taxes on income (double taxation agreement or DTA) in 1977. The DTA has been revised several times, most recently by means of a protocol of amendment dated 30 November 2017. This protocol of amendment incorporates the minimum standards set under BEPS actions 6 and 14 into the DTA between Switzerland and the UK. The protocol of amendment entered into force on 19 July 2019.

In the area of administrative assistance in tax matters, the UK, like Switzerland, is a contracting party to the OECD/Council of Europe Multilateral Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters. Like Switzerland, the UK has committed itself to adopting the global standard for the automatic exchange of information on financial accounts (AEOI). Switzerland and the EU signed an agreement on the AEOI in 2015. Since autumn 2018, data has been exchanged between Switzerland and the United Kingdom on this basis. After the UK has left the EU, the basis for the AEOI will be as follows:

  • During the transition period, the EU's third-country agreements, such as the bilateral agreements between it and Switzerland, remain applicable to the UK. This is also the case for the EU-Swiss agreement on the AEOI.

  • After the end of the transition period, provisionally as from 1 January 2021, the AEOI should continue on the basis of the OECD/Council of Europe Multilateral Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters and the Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement on the Automatic Exchange of Financial Account Information (MCAA). For this purpose, the UK (and Gibraltar) will, for the time being, receive information as AEOI partners, in application of the procedure foreseen in such circumstances.
 

Further information

Last modification 03.02.2020

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/bilateral/europa/vereinigtes-koenigreich-uk-.html

Vereinigtes Königreich UK

Das Vereinigte Königreich (UK) ist wirtschaftlich und politisch ein wichtiger Partner der Schweiz. So war das UK 2018 der sechstwichtigste Absatzmarkt für Schweizer Warenexporte (8,8 Mrd. Franken) und der achtwichtigste Herkunftsmarkt für Warenimporte (7,7 Mrd. Franken). Auch im Finanzbereich sind die Beziehungen zwischen den beiden Ländern eng.

Am 23. Juni 2016 sprach sich die Stimmbevölkerung des UK für einen Austritt aus der Europäischen Union (EU) aus. Dieser Entscheid wurde am 31. Januar 2020 gestützt auf das zwischen der EU und dem UK ausgehandelte Austrittsabkommen vollzogen. Am 1. Februar 2020 hat die im Austrittsabkommen vereinbarte Übergangsperiode begonnen. Während dieser Periode bleibt das UK Teil des EU-Binnenmarkts sowie der Zollunion und ist zudem weiterhin an EU-Recht gebunden.

Die Beziehungen Schweiz–UK basierten bis anhin massgeblich auf den bilateralen Abkommen Schweiz-EU. Dies gilt ebenfalls für den Finanzbereich. Mit dem EU-Austritt (bzw. nach dem Ende der Übergangsperiode EU-UK) werden die bilateralen Abkommen Schweiz-EU nicht mehr auf das UK anwendbar sein. Bereits im Oktober 2016 hat der Bundesrat deshalb seine «Mind the Gap»-Strategie mit dem Ziel, die geltenden gegenseitigen Rechte und Pflichten der beiden Länder bestmöglich sicherzustellen und allenfalls auszubauen, beschlossen (Strategie des Bundesrates).

Im Finanzbereich wird insbesondere das Abkommen zwischen der Schweizerischen Eid­ge­nos­senschaft und der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft be­tref­fend die Direktversicherung mit Ausnahme der Lebensversicherung von 1989 (DVA Schweiz-EU) nach dem EU-Austritt des UK (bzw. nach dem Ende der Übergangsperiode EU-UK) nicht mehr anwendbar sein. Damit eine lückenlose Weiterführung der heutigen Regelungen in diesem Bereich sichergestellt ist, haben die Schweiz und das UK am 25. Januar 2019 ein Abkommen betreffend die Direktversicherung mit Ausnahme der Lebensversicherung (DVA Schweiz-UK) unterzeichnet. Wie das Ver­sicherungs­abkommen mit der EU ermöglicht es Versicherungsunternehmen im Nicht­lebens­ge­schäft (z.B. Hausrats-, Motorfahrzeug-, Reise-, Haftpflichtversicherungen), in einem Land der jeweils anderen Vertragspartei Zweig­nieder­lassungen zu gründen und zu betreiben.

Nach dem EU-Austritt des UK sieht die Ausgangslage für das Direktversicherungsabkommen wie folgt aus:

  • Während der Übergangsperiode EU-UK (mindestens bis Ende 2020) sind Drittstaatenabkommen der EU wie die bilateralen Verträge Schweiz-EU weiterhin auf das UK anwendbar. Dies gilt auch für das DVA Schweiz–EU der Fall. Folglich ändert sich zwischen der Schweiz und dem UK während dieser Periode nichts.
  • Nach dem Ende der Übergangsperiode EU-UK wird das neu zwischen der Schweiz und dem UK ausgehandelte DVA Schweiz-UK in Kraft gesetzt werden und die bisherige Rechtsgrundlage im Versicherungsbereich (DVA Schweiz-EU) nahtlos ersetzen.

Texte der am 25. Januar 2019 unterzeichneten Abkommen zwischen der Schweiz und dem UK:

Die Finanzmarktaufsichtsbehörden der Schweiz und des UK waren in die Arbeiten zur «Mind the Gap»-Strategie einbezogen und haben ihrerseits die erforderlichen Schritte zur Sicherstellung der bestehenden gegenseitigen Rechte und Pflichten auf Stufe der Aufsichtsbehörde (bspw. durch Anpassung von aufsichtsbezogenen Kooperationsvereinbarungen) unternommen.

Im Steuerbereich besteht zwischen der Schweiz und dem UK ein Abkommen zur Vermeidung der Doppelbesteuerung (Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen oder DBA) auf dem Gebiet der Steuern vom Einkommen aus dem Jahr 1977. Das DBA wurde mehrmals revidiert, letztmals mittels Änderungsprotokoll vom 30. November 2017. Mit diesem Änderungsprotokoll werden die im Rahmen der BEPS-Massnahmen 6 und 14 gesetzten Mindeststandards ins DBA zwischen der Schweiz und dem UK aufgenommen. Das Änderungsprotokoll ist am 19. Juli 2019 in Kraft getreten.

Im Bereich der steuerlichen Amtshilfe ist das UK, wie auch die Schweiz, Vertragspartei des multilateralen Übereinkommens des Europarats und der OECD über die gegenseitige Amtshilfe in Steuersachen. Wie die Schweiz hat auch das UK sich zur Übernahme des globalen Standards für den automatischen Informationsaustausch über Finanzkonten (AIA) verpflichtet. Die Schweiz und die EU haben im Jahr 2015 eine Vereinbarung über den AIA unterzeichnet. Seit Herbst 2018 werden Daten zwischen der Schweiz und dem Vereinigten Königreich auf dieser Grundlage ausgetauscht. Nach dem Austritt des UK aus der EU sieht die Ausgangslage für den AIA wie folgt aus:

  • Während der Übergangsperiode EU-UK sind Drittstaatenabkommen der EU wie die bilateralen Verträge Schweiz-EU weiterhin auf das UK anwendbar. Dies ist auch für die Vereinbarung Schweiz-EU zum AIA der Fall.

  • Nach dem Ende der Übergangsperiode EU-UK soll der AIA ab voraussichtlich 1. Januar 2021 gestützt auf das multilaterale Übereinkommen des Europarats und der OECD über die gegenseitige Amtshilfe in Steuersachen und das multilaterale Übereinkommen der zuständigen Behörden über den automatischen Informationsaustausch in Steuersachen (MCAA) weitergeführt werden. UK (und Gibraltar) wird zu diesem Zweck nach Massgabe des hierfür vorgesehenen Verfahrens vorgängig als AIA-Partner notifiziert werden.
   
 

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 03.02.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/bilateral/europa/vereinigtes-koenigreich-uk-.html