FATCA agreement

The agreement between Switzerland and the United States on cooperation to simplify the implementation of FATCA entered into force on 2 June 2014. The Federal Council brought the corresponding implementing act into force on 30 June 2014. 

With the enactment of the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA), the United States wishes to ensure that all accounts held abroad by US taxpayers can actually be taxed. FATCA is a unilateral set of US regulations that applies worldwide for all countries. It requires foreign financial institutions to disclose information on US accounts to the Internal Revenue Service or levy a high tax.

The administrative and financial burden associated with the implementation of FATCA is con-siderable for foreign financial institutions. This burden will be reduced by the FATCA agreement, as it makes provision for reductions in the administrative burden for Swiss financial institutions. FATCA implementation in Switzerland is based on Model 2, which means Swiss financial institutions will disclose account details directly to the US tax authority with the consent of the US clients concerned. The United States will have to request data on recalcitrant clients through normal administrative assistance channels.

Since 20 September 2019 - when the protocol of amendment to the double taxation agreement between Switzerland and the USA came into force - group requests under the FATCA agreement can be made for cases from 30 June 2014. In accordance with the FATCA agreement, the US tax authority, the IRS, can request information on all accounts that Swiss financial institutions have reported to it in aggregated form. Upon receipt of a FATCA group request, the Federal Tax Administration (FTA) requests the financial institution concerned to provide it with the information described in the FATCA agreement within 10 days. Guidance on the preparation of FATCA group requests can be found on the website of the FTA.

The Federal Council approved the mandate for negotiations with the United States on switching to Model 1 on 8 October 2014. The mandate provides for the automatic exchange of information. It is still unknown at the present time when there will be a corresponding agreement.

Further information

Last modification 20.09.2019

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/bilateral/amerika/vereinigen-staaten-von-amerika-usa/fatca-abkommen.html

FATCA-Abkommen

Das Abkommen zwischen der Schweiz und den Vereinigten Staaten über die Zusammenarbeit für eine erleichterte Umsetzung von FATCA ist am 2. Juni 2014 in Kraft getreten. Das entsprechende Umsetzungsgesetz hat der Bundesrat auf den 30. Juni 2014 in Kraft gesetzt.  

Mit dem «Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act» (FATCA) wollen die USA erreichen, dass sämtliche im Ausland gehaltenen Konten von Personen, die in den USA steuerpflichtig sind, besteuert werden können. FATCA ist eine unilaterale US-Regelung, die weltweit für alle Länder gilt. Sie verlangt von ausländischen Finanzinstituten, dass sie den US-Steuerbehörden Informationen über US-Konten weitergeben oder eine hohe Steuer erheben.

Für ausländische Finanzinstitute ist die Umsetzung von FATCA mit grossem administrativem und finanziellem Aufwand verbunden. Dieser Aufwand wird durch das FATCA-Abkommen reduziert, weil das Abkommen für die schweizerischen Finanzinstitute administrative Erleichterungen vorsieht. Die Umsetzung erfolgt in der Schweiz nach dem so genannten Modell 2. Demnach melden schweizerische Finanzinstitute die Kontodaten mit Zustimmung der betroffenen US-Kunden direkt an die US-Steuerbehörde. Daten über nicht kooperationswillige Kunden müssen die USA auf dem ordentlichen Amtshilfeweg anfordern.

Seit dem 20. September 2019 – Inkrafttreten des Änderungsprotokolls zum Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen (DBA) zwischen der Schweiz und den USA – können Gruppenersuchen im Rahmen des FATCA-Abkommens für Sachverhalte ab dem 30. Juni 2014 gestellt werden. Gemäss FATCA-Abkommen kann die US-Steuerbehörde IRS Informationen zu sämtlichen Konten verlangen, die ihr schweizerische Finanzinstitute aggregiert gemeldet haben. Nach Eingang eines FATCA-Gruppenersuchens fordert die Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung (ESTV) das betroffene Finanzinstitut dazu auf, ihr die Informationen innert 10 Tagen zu liefern, die im FATCA-Abkommen umschrieben sind. Eine Anleitung zur Vorbereitung der FATCA-Gruppenersuchen kann der Internetseite der ESTV entnommen werden.

Am 8. Oktober 2014 hat der Bundesrat ein Mandat zu Verhandlungen mit den USA über einen Wechsel zu Modell 1 beschlossen, das den automatischen Informationsaustausch vorsieht.  Wann ein entsprechendes Abkommen vorliegen wird, ist zum gegenwärtigen Zeitpunkt noch ungewiss.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 20.09.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/bilateral/amerika/vereinigen-staaten-von-amerika-usa/fatca-abkommen.html