Sustainable Finance

The issue of sustainability in the financial sector is becoming increasingly important both nationally and internationally. Various bodies and international organisations are currently addressing this topic. While the Swiss financial centre may derive advantages from this, it may also be faced with new risks. The government primarily plays the role of mediator and facilitator in this context.

The issue of sustainability is becoming increasingly important for financial market policy too. This development is reflected in particular in the G20's work in the financial sphere (Finance Track). Hosted under the Chinese presidency in 2016, the G20 established a study group to look into green economy matters for the first time (i.e. Green Finance Study Group). Switzerland is also represented in this group. In parallel, the Financial Stability Board (FSB) and the International Monetary Fund (IMF) are examining the impact that climate change could have on financial market stability. The FSB has also established a task force under the leadership of the financial industry that has developed recommendations for voluntary, uniform, climate-related financial reporting.

Switzerland actively participates in the work of international financial bodies on this issue and is working on applying a coherent policy in this area at both the national and international levels. The issue is doubly relevant for Switzerland: firstly, as a potential risk for the stability of Switzerland's financial system, and secondly, as an opportunity for its financial centre. Thanks to its expertise in the environmental sector as well as favourable framework conditions and a strong, experienced financial sector, Switzerland has great potential to develop a lasting competitive advantage in the area of sustainable investments.

For this reason, the Federal Council defined principles for a consistent financial market policy for Switzerland in connection with the
environmental dimensions of sustainability as well as further steps at its meeting on 24 February 2016. These principles are based on the primacy of market-economy solutions and the subsidiarity of state action, as well as on transparency and awareness of the long-term effects of current decisions. In addition to its active involvement in the corresponding international bodies, Switzerland is also seeking to intensify talks with the sector on the issue of sustainability in the area of financial markets. In particular, transparency issues and possible risks and opportunities for the financial centre should be determined in this process. The government should primarily assume the role of mediator and facilitator here.

In 2017, the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN) and the State Secretariat for International Financial Matters (SIF) initiated pilot tests to analyse the climate alignment of financial portfolios. All Swiss pension funds and insurance companies could voluntarily have their portfolios of stocks and corporate bonds tested, anonymously and free of charge, for their compatibility with the internationally agreed climate goal, limiting climate warming to well below 2°C compared with pre-industrial levels. More information you can find here Climate and financial markets

Further information

Last modification 23.10.2017

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/themen/nachhaltigkeit-im-finanzbereich.html

Finance durable

La thématique du développement durable dans le secteur financier gagne en importance tant au niveau national qu’international. Divers organismes et organisations internationales se penchent actuellement sur le sujet. La place financière suisse peut en retirer des avantages, mais aussi être confrontée à de nouveaux risques. L’État endosse avant tout un rôle de médiateur et de facilitateur dans ce contexte.

La question du développement durable gagne en importance également en matière de politique des marchés financiers. Cette évolution se reflète notamment dans les travaux du G20 dans le domaine financier (Finance Track). Placé en 2016 sous la présidence de la Chine, le G20 a institué pour la première fois un groupe d’étude qui est chargé des questions liées à l’économie verte (Green Finance Study Group) et au sein duquel la Suisse est également représentée. Parallèlement, le Conseil de stabilité financière (CSF) a crée un groupe de travail placé sous la direction du secteur financier qui a formulé des recommandations sur l'établissement volontaire de rapports financiers uniformes intégrant des données environnementales.

La Suisse prend une part active aux travaux des organismes financiers internationaux en la matière et s’emploie à appliquer dans ce domaine une politique cohérente aussi bien sur le plan national qu’à l’échelle internationale. Le thème est pertinent pour la Suisse à double titre: d’une part, en tant que risque potentiel pour la stabilité du système financier suisse et, d’autre part, en tant que chance pour la place financière helvétique. Grâce à son expertise dans le domaine de l’environnement ainsi qu’à des conditions-cadres favorables et à un secteur financier solide et expérimenté, la Suisse dispose d’un fort potentiel pour la création à long terme d’un avantage concurrentiel dans le domaine des investissements durables.

C’est pourquoi le Conseil fédéral a, lors de sa séance du 24 février 2016, défini les principes d’une politique cohérente des marchés financiers qui prend en compte la dimension écologique du développement durable, et fixé les prochaines étapes en la matière. Ces principes reposent sur la primauté de solutions relevant de l’économie de marché et sur la subsidiarité de l’action publique ainsi que sur la transparence et la prise en compte des effets à long terme des décisions actuelles. Outre la participation active au sein des organismes internationaux, le but visé est de renforcer le dialogue avec le secteur en ce qui concerne le développement durable dans le domaine des marchés financiers. Il s’agira d’évoquer notamment la question de la transparence ainsi que les risques et les chances pour la place financière. Dans ce contexte, l’État devrait assumer avant tout un rôle de médiateur et de facilitateur.

En 2017, l’Office fédéral de l’environnement (l'OFEV) et le Secrétariat d’État aux questions financières internationales (SFI) ont initié un test pilote de compatibilité climatique des portefeuilles financiers. Toutes les caisses de pension et assurances suisses ont ainsi pu faire analyser gratuitement, anonymement et sur une base volontaire la compatibilité de leurs portefeuilles d’actions et d’obligations d’entreprises avec l’objectif climatique international, de limiter le réchauffement climatique à (bien en deçà de ) 2 °C par rapport à l’ère préindustrielle. Vous trouverez de plus amples informations ici : Climat et marché financier

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 23.10.2017

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/themen/nachhaltigkeit-im-finanzbereich.html