United Kingdom

The United Kingdom (UK) is an important economic and political partner of Switzerland. Relations between the two countries are also close in the financial sector. The two countries hold regular financial dialogues which serve to establish and maintain privileged contacts with the authorities involved in financial matters.

On 23 June 2016, the UK electorate voted in favour of leaving the European Union (EU). This decision came into force on 31 January 2020 on the basis of the withdrawal agreement negotiated between the EU and the UK. The transition period set out in the withdrawal agreement expired on 31 December 2020. As of 1 January 2021, the UK is no longer part of the EU internal market and the customs union, and is no longer bound by EU law.

Financial sector

To date, relations between Switzerland and the UK have been largely based on bilateral agreements between Switzerland and the EU. This is also true of the financial sector. With Brexit (i.e. after the end of the transition period agreed), these agreements do no longer apply to the UK. For this reason, in October 2016, the Federal Council launched its "Mind the gap" strategy, in order to best ensure and, if need be, extend the existing reciprocal rights and obligations between the two countries.

The Federal Council's "Mind the gap" strategy

In order to provide a seamless continuation of the current regulations in the financial sector, Switzerland and the UK signed an agreement on 25 January 2019 on direct insurance other than life assurance (UK-Swiss DIA). Like the insurance agreement with the EU, this agreement allows non-life insurance companies (e.g. household and travel insurers) to operate branches in the other country. On 1 January 2021, the Swiss-UK DIA came into force, seamlessly replacing the current legal basis in the area of insurance.

UK-Swiss direct insurance agreement

Accompanying decision of the contracting parties to the UK-Swiss DIA

The Swiss and UK financial market supervisory authorities were involved in the work on the "Mind the gap" strategy and, for their part, took the necessary steps to ensure the existing reciprocal rights and obligations at supervisory authority level (e.g. by adapting supervision-related cooperation agreements).

On 30 June 2020, Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer and the British Chancellor of the Exchequer, Rishi Sunak, signed a joint statement on intensified future cooperation between the two countries in the area of financial services, thus underlining their shared intention to deepen financial relations. The envisaged agreement should enable cross-border market access for a wide range of financial services relating to insurance, banking, asset management and capital market infrastructure. On 27 January 2021, the two ministers agreed on the further steps for concrete negotiations on the individual topics.

Joint statement

On 3 February 2021, the UK recognised Swiss stock exchange regulation as equivalent. As a result, Switzerland deactivated the stock exchange protective measure in relation to the UK on the same day.

Tax matters

In the area of taxation, a double taxation agreement (DTA) exists between Switzerland and the UK. The DTA has been revised several times, most recently by means of a protocol of amendment which entered into force on 19 July 2019.

DTA and protocols of amendment

In the area of administrative assistance in tax matters, the UK, like Switzerland, is a contracting party to the OECD/Council of Europe Multilateral Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters. This is the basis on which the two countries exchange information on request.

Switzerland and the EU signed an agreement on the AEOI in 2015. Since autumn 2018, data has been exchanged between Switzerland and the United Kingdom on this basis. As of 1 January 2021, the AEOI is continued on the basis of a Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement (MCAA).

Further information

Last modification 01.02.2021

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/bilateral/lander/vereinigtes-koenigreich-uk-.html

Royaume-Uni

Le Royaume-Uni est un partenaire important pour la Suisse, tant sur le plan économique que sur le plan politique. Les deux pays entretiennent également des relations étroites dans le domaine financier. Ils mènent des dialogues financiers réguliers, qui permettent de nouer et d’entretenir des contacts privilégiés entre autorités compétentes.

Le 23 juin 2016, la population du Royaume-Uni s’est prononcée en faveur du Brexit, autrement dit de la sortie du pays de l’Union européenne (UE). Cette décision a été exécutée le 31 janvier 2020, sur la base de l’accord de retrait négocié entre l’UE et le Royaume-Uni. La période de transition convenue dans l'accord a pris fin au 31 décembre 2020. Depuis le 1er janvier 2021, le Royaume-Uni ne fait plus partie du marché intérieur européen ainsi que de l’Union douanière et n'est plus lié par le droit de l’UE.

Questions financières

Jusqu’à présent, les relations entre la Suisse et le Royaume-Uni, notamment en matière financière, se fondaient pour l’essentiel sur les accords bilatéraux conclus entre la Suisse et l’UE. Depuis la sortie du pays de l’UE (c’est-à-dire après la période de transition), les accords bilatéraux entre la Suisse et l’UE ne s’appliquent plus au Royaume-Uni. C’est pourquoi le Conseil fédéral a adopté dès le mois d’octobre 2016 sa stratégie «Mind the Gap», qui vise à maintenir, voire à étendre les droits et obligations réciproques existant entre les deux pays.

Stratégie «Mind the Gap» du Conseil fédéral

Afin de garantir le maintien ininterrompu des règles existant dans le domaine financier, la Suisse et le Royaume-Uni ont signé, le 25 janvier 2019, un accord concernant l’assurance directe autre que l’assurance sur la vie (accord sur l’assurance directe entre la Suisse et le Royaume-Uni). À l’instar de l’accord sur l’assurance conclu avec l’UE, cet accord permet aux assureurs du secteur non-vie (par ex. assurances ménage ou voyage) d’exploiter des succursales dans l’autre État contractant. Le 1er janvier 2021, l’accord sur l’assurance directe entre la Suisse et le Royaume-Uni est entré en vigueur et a remplacé la base juridique existante dans le domaine de l’assurance.

Accord sur l’assurance directe entre la Suisse et le Royaume-Uni

Décision des  parties contractantes relative à l’accord sur l’assurance directe entre la Suisse et le Royaume-Uni

Les autorités de surveillance des marchés financiers de Suisse et du Royaume-Uni ont participé aux travaux sur la stratégie «Mind the Gap» et ont, pour leur part, pris les mesures nécessaires pour garantir les droits et obligations réciproques au niveau de l’autorité de surveillance (par ex. en adaptant les accords de coopération prudentielle).

Le 30 juin 2020, le conseiller fédéral Ueli Maurer et le chancelier de l’Échiquier britannique, Rishi Sunak, ont signé une déclaration (joint statement) portant sur l’approfondissement de la collaboration entre la Suisse et le Royaume-Uni dans le domaine des services financiers. L’accord visé doit faciliter l’accès transfrontalier au marché pour un large éventail de services financiers dans les secteurs de l’assurance, de la banque, de la gestion d’actifs et des infrastructures du marché des capitaux. Le 27 janvier 2021, les deux ministres ont défini les prochaines étapes des négociations concrètes sur les différents sujets.

Joint Statement

Le 3 février 2021, le Royaume-Uni a reconnu la réglementation suisse en matière boursière comme équivalente. Le même jour, la Suisse a désactivé pour le Royaume-Uni la mesure de protection qu'elle a prise pour protéger son infrastructure boursière. 

Questions fiscales

Dans le domaine de la fiscalité, la Suisse et le Royaume-Uni ont conclu une convention en vue d’éviter les doubles impositions (convention contre les doubles impositions ou CDI). La CDI a été révisée à plusieurs reprises, la dernière fois par un protocole de modification qui est entré en vigueur le 19 juillet 2019.

CDI et protocoles de modification

Dans le domaine de l’assistance administrative en matière fiscale, le Royaume-Uni est partie, tout comme la Suisse, de la Convention multilatérale du Conseil de l’Europe et de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) concernant l’assistance administrative mutuelle en matière fiscale. Sur cette base, les deux pays échangent des renseignements sur demande.

En 2015, la Suisse et l’UE ont signé un accord sur l’échange automatique de renseignements (EAR). La Suisse et le Royaume-Uni ont échangé des données sur cette base à partir de l’automne 2018. Depuis le 1er janvier 2021, l’EAR s’applique sur la base de la  l'Accord multilatéral entre autorités compétentes concernant l’échange automatique de renseignements relatifs aux comptes financiers  (Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement; MCAA).

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 16.04.2021

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/bilateral/lander/vereinigtes-koenigreich-uk-.html