Commodity trading and finance

Traditionally Switzerland has long been a location of global significance for companies in the raw material sector. Over the past ten years, this significance has grown considerably. The Swiss raw material sector includes, in particular, trading companies as well as banks specialized in the financing of raw material trading, goods inspection companies, shipping companies and insurance companies.

© www.rolfweiss.ch

Switzerland’s commodities sector continues to be significant for the Swiss economy, as reflected for instance in the receipts from merchanting – largely in commodity trading – which accounted for some 3.9% of Swiss gross domestic product (GDP) in 2014, according to the Swiss National Bank’s statistics. Given the many connections between the commodities sector and the financial sector, a prosperous commodities sector is also important for Switzerland’s financial centre. Banks, for instance, play a key role in the financing of trade in commodities.

In August 2015, the Federal Council approved and published the second status report on the implementation of the recommendations made in the background report on commodities. Real progress was made in many areas. The background report on commodities with its 17 recommendations was published in March 2013. The aim of the recommendations is to maintain Switzerland’s competitiveness as a business location and take specific action to address the risks associated with companies’ activities in terms of human rights, environmental and social standards, corruption and reputation.

The Federal Council believes that Switzerland is well positioned by international standards with regard to its efforts to ensure a competitive and morally sound location for commodity companies, and it attaches great importance to these efforts. It has instructed the interdepartmental platform on commodities under the joint leadership of the Federal Department of Finance (FDF), the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER) and the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA) to report again on the status of implementation of the recommendations by the end of 2016.

Further information

Last modification 26.10.2016

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/themen/rohstoffhandel-und-finanzierung.html

Rohstoffhandel und Finanzierung

Die Schweiz ist traditionell ein weltweit bedeutender Standort für Rohstoffunternehmen. Im letzten Jahrzehnt hat diese Bedeutung markant zugenommen. Der Schweizer Rohstoffsektor umfasst namentlich Handelsunternehmen, aber auch Banken, die sich auf die Finanzierung des Rohstoffhandels spezialisiert haben, Wareninspektionsfirmen, Reedereien und Versicherungen.

© www.rolfweiss.ch

Die Bedeutung der Schweizer Rohstoffbranche für die Schweizer Volkswirtschaft ist ungebrochen gross. Dies widerspiegeln unter anderem die weitgehend aus dem Rohstoffhandel stammenden Einnahmen aus dem Transithandel, welche 2014 gemäss Erhebung der Schweizerischen Nationalbank (SNB) rund 3,9 Prozent des Schweizer Bruttoinlandprodukts (BIP) entsprachen. Aufgrund der vielfältigen Verbindungen zwischen der Rohstoffbranche und dem Finanzsektor ist eine prosperierende Rohstoffbranche auch für den Schweizer Finanzplatz von Bedeutung. Den Banken kommt beispielsweise bei der Finanzierung des Handels mit Rohstoffen eine zentrale Rolle zu.

Im August 2015 hat der Bundesrat die zweite Berichterstattung zum Stand der Umsetzung der Empfehlungen des Grundlagenberichts Rohstoffe gutgeheissen und veröffentlicht. In vielen Bereichen konnten konkrete Fortschritte gemacht werden. Der Grundlagenbericht Rohstoffe mit seinen 17 Empfehlungen wurde im März 2013 veröffentlicht. Die Empfehlungen haben zum Ziel, die  Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Standortes Schweiz aufrecht zu erhalten und die Risiken der Unternehmen im Zusammenhang mit ihren Tätigkeiten bezüglich Menschenrechten, Umwelt- und Sozialstandards, der Korruption sowie der Reputation konkret anzugehen.

Nach Ansicht des Bundesrates steht die Schweiz bezüglich ihrer Anstrengungen, einen sowohl wettbewerbsfähigen als auch integren Standort für Rohstoffunternehmen zu gewährleisten, im internationalen Vergleich gut da. Der Bundesrat misst diesen Arbeiten grosse Bedeutung zu. Er hat die interdepartementale Plattform Rohstoffe unter der gemeinsamen Leitung des Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartements (EFD), des Eidgenössischen Departements für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung (WBF) und des Eidgenössischen Departements für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA) beauftragt, bis Ende 2016 erneut über den Stand der Umsetzung der Empfehlungen zu berichten.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 26.10.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/themen/rohstoffhandel-und-finanzierung.html