Sustainable Finance

The issue of sustainability in the financial sector is becoming increasingly important both nationally and internationally. Various bodies and international organisations are currently addressing this topic. While the Swiss financial centre may derive advantages from this, it may also be faced with new risks. The government primarily plays the role of mediator and facilitator in this context.

The issue of sustainability is becoming increasingly important for financial market policy too. This development is reflected in particular in the G20's work in the financial sphere (Finance Track). Hosted under the Chinese presidency in 2016, the G20 established a study group to look into green economy matters for the first time (i.e. Green Finance Study Group). Switzerland is also represented in this group. In parallel, the Financial Stability Board (FSB) and the International Monetary Fund (IMF) are examining the impact that climate change could have on financial market stability. The FSB has also established a task force under the leadership of the financial industry that has developed recommendations for voluntary, uniform, climate-related financial reporting.

Switzerland actively participates in the work of international financial bodies on this issue and is working on applying a coherent policy in this area at both the national and international levels. The issue is doubly relevant for Switzerland: firstly, as a potential risk for the stability of Switzerland's financial system, and secondly, as an opportunity for its financial centre. Thanks to its expertise in the environmental sector as well as favourable framework conditions and a strong, experienced financial sector, Switzerland has great potential to develop a lasting competitive advantage in the area of sustainable investments.

For this reason, the Federal Council defined principles for a consistent financial market policy for Switzerland in connection with the
environmental dimensions of sustainability as well as further steps at its meeting on 24 February 2016. These principles are based on the primacy of market-economy solutions and the subsidiarity of state action, as well as on transparency and awareness of the long-term effects of current decisions. In addition to its active involvement in the corresponding international bodies, Switzerland is also seeking to intensify talks with the sector on the issue of sustainability in the area of financial markets. In particular, transparency issues and possible risks and opportunities for the financial centre should be determined in this process. The government should primarily assume the role of mediator and facilitator here.

In 2017, the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN) and the State Secretariat for International Financial Matters (SIF) initiated pilot tests to analyse the climate alignment of financial portfolios. All Swiss pension funds and insurance companies could voluntarily have their portfolios of stocks and corporate bonds tested, anonymously and free of charge, for their compatibility with the internationally agreed climate goal, limiting climate warming to well below 2°C compared with pre-industrial levels. More information you can find here Climate and financial markets

Further information

Last modification 23.10.2017

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/themen/nachhaltigkeit-im-finanzbereich.html

Nachhaltigkeit im Finanzbereich

Die Thematik der Nachhaltigkeit im Finanzbereich gewinnt national wie international an Bedeutung. Mit dieser Materie befassen sich derzeit verschiedene internationale Gremien und Organisationen. Das kann dem Schweizer Finanzplatz gewisse Vorteile verschaffen, ihn aber auch neuen Risiken aussetzen. Der Staat übernimmt hierbei die Rolle eines Vermittlers und Fazilitators.

Auch in der Finanzmarktpolitik gewinnt die Frage der Nachhaltigkeit zunehmend an Bedeutung. Das schlägt sich insbesondere in den Arbeiten der G20 zu Finanzthemen, im sogenannten «Finance Track», nieder. Die G20 schuf 2016 unter chinesischer Präsidentschaft erstmals eine Studiengruppe zum Thema Grüne Wirtschaft (Green Finance Study Group), in der auch die Schweiz vertreten ist. Parallel dazu prüfen das Financial Stability Board (FSB) und der Internationale Währungsfonds (IWF) derzeit, auf welche Weise der Klimawechsel die Stabilität der Finanzmärkte beeinflusst. Das FSB hat zudem eine Taskforce unter Leitung der Finanzindustrie gebildet, die Empfehlungen für freiwillige und einheitliche, klimabezogene finanzielle Berichterstattung entwickelt hat.

Die Schweiz beteiligt sich aktiv an den Arbeiten der zuständigen internationalen Finanzorganisationen und bemüht sich, in diesem Bereich eine sowohl national wie international kohärente Politik zu betreiben. Die Thematik ist für die Schweiz in zweifacher Hinsicht relevant: Zum einen stellt sie für die Stabilität des Schweizer Finanzsystems ein potenzielles Risiko dar, zum andern birgt sie für den Schweizer Finanzplatz aber auch Chancen. Die Schweiz verfügt dank ihrer Expertise im Umweltbereich, in Kombination mit den günstigen Rahmenbedingungen und einem starken Finanzsektor, über ein gewisses Potenzial für einen langfristigen Wettbewerbsvorteil im Bereich der nachhaltigen Investitionen.

Der Bundesrat hat daher an seiner Sitzung vom 24. Februar 2016 die Grundsätze für eine konsistente Politik der Schweiz im Bereich der Finanzmarktpolitik im Zusammenhang mit der ökologischen Dimension der Nachhaltigkeit sowie die weiteren Schritte festgelegt. Diese Grundsätze beruhen auf dem Vorrang, der den marktwirtschaftlichen, subsidiär zu staatlichen Eingriffen getroffenen Massnahmen eingeräumt wird, sowie auf der Transparenz und der Berücksichtigung der langfristigen Auswirkungen heutiger Entscheide. Neben der aktiven Mitwirkung in den entsprechenden internationalen Gremien wird auch die Vertiefung des Dialogs mit der Branche zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit im Finanzmarktbereich angestrebt. Dabei sollen insbesondere Fragen der Transparenz und allfällige Risiken und Chancen für den Finanzplatz eruiert werden. Der Staat sollte hierbei vornehmlich die Rolle eines Vermittlers und Fazilitators einnehmen.

2017 haben das Bundesamt für Umwelt (BAFU) und das Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen (SIF) Pilottests zur Analyse der Klimaverträglichkeit von Finanzportfolien initiiert. Alle Schweizer Pensionskassen und Versicherungen konnten freiwillig, anonym und kostenlos ihre Aktien- und Unternehmensobligationenportfolien auf ihre Kompatibilität mit dem international vereinbarten Klimaziel, die globale Erwärmung deutlich unter 2 Grad zu halten testen lassen. Mehr Informationen dazu finden Sie unter Klima und Finanzmarkt.

Weiterführende Informationen 

Letzte Änderung 27.02.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/themen/nachhaltigkeit-im-finanzbereich.html