Stability Board and standard-setting bodies

Financial markets are globally interconnected and regulatory issues are becoming increasingly complex. Consequently, international cooperation is of crucial importance for financial market stability. The Financial Stability Board (FSB), which is hosted by the Bank for International Settlements (BIS) in Basel, plays a key role in this regard. The FSB's primary task is to coordinate the work of its member states and of international bodies in the area of financial market regulation and supervision. Frequently based on a G20 mandate, the FSB drives international financial market reforms in areas such as systemically important financial institutions, derivatives markets, financial market infrastructures or the so-called shadow banking system. Moreover, the FSB monitors its member states' implementation of international regulatory standards and sets its own standards in individual fields.

As a member, Switzerland has two seats in the FSB, which are occupied by the FDF and the SNB. Within the FDF, SIF coordinates Switzerland's position in the FSB together with the SNB and FINMA, and participates in plenary meetings and various bodies and working groups of the FSB. Safeguarding Switzerland's interests includes both active involvement in international regulatory work and the early identification of relevant developments in the area of financial stability and regulation.

International regulatory standards are generally developed in the relevant standard-setting bodies, such as the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision (BCBS), the International Association of Insurance Supervisors (IAIS) and the International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO). Switzerland is also involved in this work.

Further information

Last modification 02.02.2018

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/themen/internationales-finanz--und-waehrungssystem/financial-stability-board.html

Financial Stability Board und Standardsetzungsgremien

Finanzmärkte sind global vernetzt und Regulierungsfragen zunehmend komplex. Deshalb ist die internationale Zusammenarbeit für die Stabilität der Finanzmärkte von zentraler Bedeutung. Eine wichtige Rolle spielt dabei das Financial Stability Board (FSB), das bei der Bank für Internationalen Zahlungsausgleich in Basel angesiedelt ist. Die Hauptaufgabe des FSB ist die Koordination der Arbeiten seiner Mitgliedstaaten sowie internationaler Gremien im Bereich der Finanzmarktregulierung und -aufsicht. Das FSB treibt - oft basierend auf einem Mandat der G20 - internationale Finanzmarktreformen voran, beispielsweise auf dem Gebiet systemrelevanter Finanzinstitute, der Derivatemärkte, der Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen oder des sogenannten Schattenbankensystems. Zudem überwacht das FSB bei den Mitgliedsstaaten die Umsetzung internationaler Regulierungsstandards und setzt in einzelnen Bereichen selbst Standards.

Die Schweiz hat als Mitglied zwei Sitze im FSB, die vom EFD und der SNB eingenommen werden. Seitens des EFD koordiniert das SIF gemeinsam mit der SNB und der FINMA die Schweizer Position im FSB und nimmt in der Plenarversammlung und diversen Gremien und Arbeitsgruppen des FSB teil. Die Interessenswahrung der Schweiz umfasst sowohl eine aktive Mitwirkung an den internationalen Regulierungsarbeiten als auch das frühzeitige Erkennen relevanter Entwicklungen im Bereich der Finanzstabilität und Regulierung.

Die Entwicklung internationaler Regulierungsstandards erfolgt in der Regel in den einschlägigen Standardsetzungsgremien wie etwa dem Basler Ausschuss für Bankenregulierung (BCBS), der Internationalen Vereinigung von Versicherungsaufsichtsbehörden (IAIS) oder der Internationalen Organisation der Wertpapieraufsichtsbehörden (IOSCO). An diesen Arbeiten ist die Schweiz ebenfalls beteiligt. 

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 02.02.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/themen/internationales-finanz--und-waehrungssystem/financial-stability-board.html