Blockchain

Switzerland is one of the leading locations in the area of distributed ledger technology (DLT) and blockchain. Especially in the financial sector, a growing fintech and blockchain ecosystem has developed in Switzerland. For Switzerland as a business location, it is crucial for the legal framework to enable innovation and for new technologies to be able to thrive. At the same time, Switzerland's integrity and good reputation as a business location must continue to be guaranteed in this area too.

The Federal Council report of 14 December 2018 on the legal basis for blockchain and DLT provided an analysis of the relevant framework conditions, clarified the need for action and proposed concrete measures. Analyses show that there is no need for fundamental adjustments to the Swiss legal framework or the introduction of a technology act. However, there is still a need for specific amendments to some federal acts.

Report on the legal framework for DLT and blockchain of 14 December 2018

Legal basis

On 25 September 2020, Parliament unanimously adopted the bill to adapt federal law to developments in distributed ledger technology (DLT). The referendum period will run until 14 January 2021. This bill will increase legal certainty, remove obstacles for DLT-based applications and limit the risk of abuse.

One of the proposal's key areas is the amendment of securities law. It will provide a secure legal basis for the trading of rights through electronic registers. Furthermore, the segregation of crypto-based assets in the event of bankruptcy will be clarified by law. Finally, a new licence category for DLT trading systems will be established in financial market infrastructure law, thereby creating a flexible legal framework for new forms of financial market infrastructure.

The bill requires implementing provisions at ordinance level in several areas. The consultation on the corresponding blanket ordinance was initiated on 19 October 2020 and will run until 2 February 2021. The amendments to acts and ordinances will probably enter into force on 1 August 2021.

Parliament (not available in English)
Act (not available in English)
Draft blanket ordinance (not available in English)
Explanatory report on the blanket ordinance (not available in English)

Analysis of money laundering risks

On 14 December 2018, the Federal Council took note of a report by the interdepartmental coordinating group on combating money laundering and the financing of terrorism (CGMF) on the money laundering and terrorist financing risks posed by crypto assets and crowdfunding. The analysis showed that crypto-based assets pose a threat in the area of money laundering and terrorist financing. Due to the small number of cases, the real risk in Switzerland cannot be estimated conclusively.

CGMF report "Risk of money laundering and terrorist financing posed by crypto assets and crowdfunding"

Further information

 

Last modification 13.11.2020

Top of page

Contact

State Secretariat for International Finance SIF

Bundesgasse 3
3003 Berne

info@sif.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/digit_finanzsektor/blockchain.html

Blockchain

Die Schweiz zählt in den Bereichen Distributed Ledger Technologie (DLT) und Blockchain zu den führenden Standorten. Namentlich im Finanzbereich hat sich ein wachsendes Fintech- und Blockchain-Ökosystem in der Schweiz entwickelt. Für den Standort Schweiz ist es zentral, dass der Rechtsrahmen Innovation ermöglicht und sich das Potenzial der neuen Technologien entfalten kann. Gleichzeitig gilt es, die Integrität und den guten Ruf des Standorts Schweiz auch in diesem Bereich weiterhin zu gewährleisten.

Der Bericht des Bundesrates vom 14. Dezember 2018 zu den rechtlichen Grundlagen für Blockchain/DLT nimmt eine Auslegeordnung relevanter Rahmenbedingungen vor, klärt den Handlungsbedarf und schlägt konkrete Massnahmen vor. Die Analysen zeigen, dass keine Notwendigkeit für grundlegende Anpassungen des Schweizer Rechtsrahmens besteht oder sich die Einführung eines Technologiegesetzes aufdrängt. Dennoch besteht aber punktueller Anpassungsbedarf in einigen Bundesgesetzen .

Bericht zu den rechtlichen Grundlagen für Blockchain/DLT vom 14.12.2018

Gesetzliche Grundlagen

Die eidgenössischen Räte haben am 25. September 2020 die Vorlage zur Anpassung des Bundesrechts an Entwicklungen der Technik verteilter elektronischer Register (Distributed Ledger Technology, DLT) einstimmig verabschiedet. Die Referendumsfrist läuft bis 14. Januar 2021. Mit dieser Vorlage werden die Rechtssicherheit erhöht, Hürden für Anwendungen, die auf DLT basieren, beseitigt sowie Missbrauchsrisiken begrenzt. 

Zu den Kernbereichen der Vorlage zählt die Anpassung des Wertpapierrechts. Damit erhält der Handel von Rechten über elektronische Register eine sichere rechtliche Grundlage. Weiter wird die Aussonderung kryptobasierter Vermögenswerte im Fall eines Konkurses gesetzlich geklärt. Schliesslich entsteht im Finanzmarktinfrastrukturrecht eine neue Bewilligungskategorie für DLT-Handelssysteme und damit ein flexibler Rechtsrahmen für neue Formen von Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen.

Die Gesetzesvorlage bedarf in verschiedenen Bereichen Ausführungsbestimmungen auf Verordnungsstufe. Die Vernehmlassung zur entsprechenden Mantelverordnung wurde am 19. Oktober 2020 eröffnet und läuft bis am 2. Februar 2021. Gesetzes- und Verordnungsänderungen werden voraussichtlich am 1. August 2021 in Kraft treten.

Parlament
Gesetz
Entwurf Mantelverordnung
Erläuternder Bericht zur Mantelverordnung

Analyse zu Risiken im Bereich Geldwäscherei

Am 14. Dezember 2018 hat der Bundesrat einen Bericht der interdepartementalen Koordinationsgruppe zur Bekämpfung der Geldwäscherei und der Terrorismusfinanzierung (KGGT) zu «Geldwäscherei- und Terrorismusfinanzierungsrisiken von Krypto-Assets und Crowdfunding» zur Kenntnis genommen. Die Analyse zeigte, dass kryptobasierte Vermögens­werte im Bereich Geldwäscherei und Terrorismusfinanzierung eine Gefährdung darstellen. Aufgrund geringer Fallzahlen kann das reelle Risiko in der Schweiz nicht abschliessend abgeschätzt werden.

Bericht der KGGT «Geldwäscherei- und Terrorismusfinanzierungsrisiken von Krypto-Assets und Crowdfunding»

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 09.11.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF

Bundesgasse 3
3003 Bern

info@sif.admin.ch

Kontakt drucken

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/finanzmarktpolitik/digit_finanzsektor/blockchain.html