State Secretariat for International Financial Matters SIF

This version is for browsers with a low level of support for CSS, and is des

Home Language Selection



Home Main Navigation

End Main Navigation


Home Content Area

Home Navigator

  • Home
    • > The Brettons Woods ...

End Navigator



The Brettons Woods Institutions and Switzerland

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) and the World Bank were conceived in July 1944 in Bretton Woods (New Hampshire, USA) by 45 nations, at the "International Monetary and Financial Conference" . Today, 187 countries are members of the IMF and the World Bank.

The sister organisations are often referred to as the "Bretton Woods Institutions". Their work, however, rests on distinctly different mandates. The IMF is responsible for securing and promoting international financial stability, whereas the core mandate of the World Bank is to promote economic and social development, and poverty reduction.

Switzerland became a member of the Bretton Woods Institutions in 1992. Since then it chairs a constituency, which includes Azerbaijan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Poland, Serbia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Kazakhstan. On behalf of this constituency, Switzerland holds one of the 24 seats in the Executive Boards of the IMF and World Bank, respectively. It participates actively in the discussions in both institutions and thereby influences their course of policy.

The responsibilities for Switzerland's relations with the IMF and the World Bank are, in line with the mandates of the institutions, spread out over different offices in the federal administration and the Swiss National Bank. Close collaboration ensures coherence in the positions presented in the two bodies.

The Federal Department of Finance (FDF-SIF) and the Swiss National Bank (SNB) are jointly responsible for Switzerland's membership in the IMF. The FDF is in charge for the general relations with the IMF, whereas the SNB is responsible for matters concerning Switzerland's monetary policy or matters, which are primarily of monetary nature.

The Federal Department of Economic Affairs (DEA-SECO) and the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA-SDC) oversee Switzerland's membership in the World Bank and cooperate operationally with this development organisation. Coordination of Switzerland's relations with the World Bank is incumbent upon the DEA.

Information on Switzerland's financial involvement in the IMF and the World Bank is summarized in the annual Foreign Economic Policy Report  and in the Report on international financial and tax matters.

Back to overview State Secretariat for International Financial Matters

Specialist staff: info@sif.admin.ch

End Content Area



State Secretariat for International Financial Matters SIF
info@sif.admin.ch | Legal framework
http://www.sif.admin.ch/00723/index.html?lang=en

Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF

Diese Ausgabe ist für Browser ohne zureichende CSS-Unterstützung gedacht und richtet sich vor allem an Sehbehinderte. Alle Inhalte sind auch mit älteren Browsern voll nutzbar. Für eine grafisch ansprechendere Ansicht verwenden Sie aber bitte einen moder

Beginn Sprachwahl



Beginn Hauptnavigation

Ende Hauptnavigation


Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Die Institutionen von Bretton Woods und die Schweiz

Der Internationale Währungsfonds (IWF) und die Weltbank wurden im Juli 1944 in Bretton Woods (New Hampshire, USA) von 45 Nationen gegründet, im Rahmen der "Internationalen Währungs- und Finanzkonferenz". Heute zählt die Mitgliedschaft des IWF und der Weltbank 187 Länder.

Als "Institutionen von Bretton Woods" werden die beiden Schwesterorganisationen oft gleichzeitig genannt. Sie sind aber mit bewusst unterschiedlichen Mandaten versehen. So ist der IWF für die Sicherung und Förderung der internationalen Finanzstabilität verantwortlich, während das Kernmandat der Weltbank in der Förderung der wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Entwicklung sowie der Bekämpfung von Armut liegt.

Die Schweiz trat 1992 den Institutionen von Bretton Woods bei. Seither leitet sie eine Stimmrechtsgruppe, zu der auch Aserbaidschan, die Kirgisische Republik, Polen, Serbien, Tadschikistan, Turkmenistan und Kasachstan gehören. Die Schweiz nimmt im Namen dieser Stimmrechtsgruppe je einen der 24 Sitze in den Verwaltungsräten von IWF und Weltbank ein. Dadurch kann sie aktiv in den beiden Institutionen mitwirken und deren Kurs mitbestimmen.

Die Zuständigkeiten für die Beziehungen der Schweiz zu IWF und Weltbank sind den Mandaten der Institutionen entsprechend auf verschiedene Stellen der Bundesverwaltung und der Schweizerischen Nationalbank verteilt. Eine enge Zusammenarbeit sichert die Kohärenz der in den beiden Gremien vertretenen Positionen.

Für die Wahrnehmung der schweizerischen Mitgliedschaft im IWF sind das
Eidgenössische Finanzdepartement (EFD-SIF) und die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) gemeinsam verantwortlich. Das EFD ist für die allgemeinen Beziehungen zum IWF federführend, während die SNB für Angelegenheiten des IWF, welche die schweizerische Geld- und Währungspolitik betreffen oder vorwiegend währungstechnischen Charakter haben, zuständig ist.

Das Eidgenössische Volkswirtschaftsdepartement (EVD-SECO) und das
Eidgenössische Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA-DEZA) betreuen die Mitgliedschaft der Schweiz in der Weltbank und nehmen die operationelle Zusammenarbeit mit dieser Entwicklungsorganisation wahr. Die Koordination der Beziehungen der Schweiz zur Weltbank obliegt dem EVD.

Auskunft über das Engagement der Schweiz im IWF und in der Weltbank gibt jeweils der neuste Aussenwirtschaftsbericht  und der Bericht über internationale Finanz- und Steuerfragen.

Zurück zur Übersicht Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen

Fachkontakt: info@sif.admin.ch

Ende Inhaltsbereich



Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF
info@sif.admin.ch | Rechtliche Grundlagen
http://www.sif.admin.ch/00723/index.html?lang=de